Women MLA Listing

Elizabeth Jane Weir


Elizabeth Jane Weir
1948 in Belfast, Northern Ireland
New Democratic Party
First Elected:
GE 23 September 1991, Riding of Saint John South


  • University of Waterloo - BA (Sociology - cum laude)
  • University of Western Ontario - LLB

Private Career

  • Instructor: York University
  • Solicitor's Office, Ontario Labour Relations Board
  • Investigator: Ontario Ministry of Labour, Employment Standards Branch
  • Instructor: University of New Brunswick
  • President and CEO: Energy Efficiency and Conservation Agency of New Brunswick


Political Career

  • 1982: Defeated in GE 12 October, riding of York North
  • 1988: Elected leader of the New Brunswick New Democratic Party
  • 1991: Elected MLA for Saint John South, GE 23 September (first woman leader of a political party elected to the New Brunswick Legislature; first leader of the New Democratic Party elected to the New Brunswick Legislature)
  • 1995: Re-elected MLA for the new riding of Saint John Harbour, GE 11 September
  • 1999: Re-elected MLA for Saint John Harbour, GE 7 June
  • 2003: Re-elected MLA for Saint John Harbour, GE 9 June
  • 2005: Resigned as MLA for Saint John Harbour



  • Chair: Select Committee on Public Automobile Insurance
  • Vice-Chair: Select Committee to Review Appointments by the Lieutenant-Governor-in-Council
  • Member: Legislative Administration Committee
  • Member: Standing Committee on Law Amendments
  • Member: Standing Committee on Crown Corporations
  • Member: Standing Committee on Public Accounts
  • Member: Standing Committee on Privileges
  • Member: Standing Committee on Private Bills
  • Member: Standing Committee on Procedure
  • Member: Standing Committee on the Ombudsman
  • Member: Select Committee on Education
  • Member: Select Committee on Health Care
  • Member: Select Committee on Wood Supply
  • Member: Select Committee on Local Governance and Regional Collaboration
  • Member: Select Committee on the Constitution
  • Member: Select Committee on Maritime Economic Union 
  • Member: Select Committee on Private Passenger Automobile Insurance
  • Member: Select Committee on Representation and Electoral Boundaries
  • Member: Select Committee on New Brunswick's Highway Policy
  • Member: Select Committee on Land Use and the Rural Environment
  • Member: Select Committee on Electoral Reform
  • Member: Select Committee on Gasoline Pricing 
  • Member: Select Committee on Energy


  • Three-time recipient of the New Brunswick Nurses' Association Healthy Public Policy Award
  • 2008: Canadian Red Cross Humanitarian Award (New Brunswick)