Government of New Brunswick

January 1, 1829 In Fredericton, Lieutenant-Governor Sir Howard Douglas officially opens Kings College (University of New Brunswick), and the Old Arts building (Sir Howard Douglas Hall) – Canada’s oldest university building.
January 1, 1836 The first Baptist seminary in New Brunswick is opened on York Street in Fredericton, with the Rev. Frederick W. Miles appointed Principal.
January 1, 1912 Canadian Pacific Railway (CPR) becomes responsible for all lines formerly operated by the Dominion Atlantic Railway (DAR) - according to a 999 year lease arrangement.
January 1, 1952 The town of Dieppe is incorporated.
January 1, 1958 The city of Campbellton and town of Shippagan become incorporated
January 1, 1966 The city of Bathurst and town of Tracadie become incorporated.
January 2, 1904 Louis B. Mayer, one of the founders of MGM Studios (Hollywood, California), leaves his family home in Saint John, destined for Boston (Massachusetts).
January 3, 1786 New Brunswick is officially divided into eight counties of Saint John, Westmorland, Charlotte, Northumberland, King’s, Queen’s, York and Sunbury. Within each county a Shire Town is designated, and civil parishes are also established.
January 3, 1786 The first meeting of the New Brunswick Legislature is held at the Mallard House on King Street in Saint John. The historic opening marks the official business of developing the new province of New Brunswick.
January 3, 1868 Lévite Thériault is elected to the House of Assembly representing Victoria County. In 1871 he is appointed a Minister without Portfolio in the administration of the Honourable George L. Hatheway.
January 4, 1824 Peter Mitchell, Interim Premier of New Brunswick, Father of Confederation, and federal Minister of Marine and Fisheries, is born in Newcastle.
January 4, 1903 The town of Sackville is incorporated.
January 5, 1911 The Miramichi Fish and Game Club hold its dinner meeting at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York City.
January 6, 1827 In celebration of Twelfth Night, Lady Douglas hosts a children’s party at Government House in Fredericton.
January 6, 1841 The Report of American Commissioners is released, concerning the boundary line between New Brunswick and the State of Maine.
January 6, 1900 The first issue of " The Freeman" newspaper appears in Saint John.
January 6, 1936 One of the worst blackmail, baby kidnapping, and murder cases in provincial history takes place at Pacific Junction. Arthur and Daniel Bannister are later hung for the crime in Dorchester’s Westmorland County Goal.
January 6, 1968 An Acadian delegation from New Brunswick (Adélard Savoie Q.C., Dr. Léon Richard, Gilbert Finn, and Euclide Daigle) commence a 2-week diplomatic visit to France. They return with a pledge of assistance to Acadian culture in New Brunswick.
January 7, 1689 The Seigneury of Kennebecasis is granted to Pierre Chenet, Sir Dubreuil.
January 7, 1903 The town of Shediac is incorporated.
January 9, 1839 The State of Maine prepares for war with New Brunswick, as Colonel Jarvis and 800 Maine volunteers occupy the disputed territory of Aroostook.
January 9, 1899 The "Collège Sacré-Coeur" is opened in Caraquet by the Eudist Fathers.
January 9, 1982 Two earthquakes, measuring 5.5 and 4.9 on the Richter scale, shake central New Brunswick. No serious damage or injuries occur.
January 10, 1815 Sir John Alexander Macdonald, the Dominion of Canada’s first Prime Minister, is born in Glasgow (Scotland).
January 11, 1969 Under the leadership of Michel Blanchard, approximately 100 students at the Université de Moncton initiate a “sit-in” of the Science building, demanding 32 million dollars increased federal funding for the university.
January 12, 1786 The results of the first provincial election in Saint John are protested.
January 12, 1840 Henry Allan Braithwaite, one of the first guides for non-resident sportsmen (and conquerer of over 1000 bears), is born in Nashwaaksis.
January 12, 1923 Radio station 10AD (CFNB) begins broadcasting from Stewart Neill’s home on Waterloo Row in Fredericton, with 10 watts of power and a frequency of 250 meters.
January 12, 1956 The town of Oromocto is incorporated.
January 13, 1833 Lt.-Governor Sir Archibald Campbell informs the House of Assembly that His Majesty’s Council is dismissed, and a new Executive Council shall take its place. Two separate councils now exist – the Legislative Council and the Executive Council.
January 13, 1839 A Maine land agent, Rufus McIntyre, operating on the upper reaches of the St. John River, is arrested and taken to Fredericton, where he spends time in the York County Goal.
January 13, 1953 St Anselme violinist Arthur Leblanc performs the North American premiere of Darius Milhaud’s Concerto No. 2 with the Montreal Symphony Orchestra. Composed specifically for the violinist, the debut performance was in Paris.
January 14, 1837 The second most deadly fire in Saint John's history starts at Peter's Wharf and rages along South Market Wharf, eventually destroying 115 houses throughout the downtown and causing more than $1 million in property damages.
January 15, 1635 Charles de Saint-Étienne de La Tour is granted a large tract of land which includes St. John harbour, and a bitter rivalry soon develops, with Charles d’Aulnay de Charnisay at Port Royal, for supreme authority in Acadia.
January 15, 1757 Charles Deschamps de Boishébert arrives on the Miramichi River, where he establishes a refugee camp for Acadians fleeing the Deportation.
January 15, 1900 The first Canadian chapter of the Imperial Order of the Daughters of the Empire is formed in Fredericton, under the leadership of Katherine Robb Black.
January 16, 1800 John Murray Bliss and Samuel Denny Street fight the first known duel in New Brunswick, near the present-day Playhouse Theatre, on Queen Street, Fredericton. Street challenges Bliss over an issue of slavery. The incident ends in a draw.
January 16, 1865 Joseph Cunard, Miramichi shipbuilder and one of the founding brothers of the Cunard steamship line, dies in Liverpool (England).
January 16, 1880 Thomas Campbell, of Saint John, patents the Combined Hot and Cold Water Faucets.
January 16, 1962 Hockey legend, Maurice “Rocket” Richard officially opens the recreation center arena in Shippagan.
January 17, 1786 Brook Watson becomes Agent for the province of New Brunswick in London (England).
January 18, 1785 The first Governor’s Ball is held in Parrtown (Saint John), to celebrate the Queen’s birth night. Between 30 to 40 “Ladies…of the best families only” and nearly 100 “Gentlemen… of all sorts “ are reported in attendance.
January 18, 1958 Fredericton's Willie O'Ree becomes the first Black man to play in the National Hockey League. Playing with the Boston Bruins in the Montreal Forum, his team beats the Canadiens 3-0.
January 19, 1826 Harry Peters, of Saint John, is appointed Speaker of the Legislative Assembly.
January 19, 1826 The House of Assembly begins its first discussion on the development of the Baie Verte project - a canal linking the Bay of Fundy with the Northumberland Strait. Various schemes continue to be seriously considered until 1888.
January 19, 1843 Through the support of local merchant and philanthropist Charles Allison, the first classes commence at Mount Allison Wesleyan Academy (Mount Allison University).
January 20, 1786 The House of Assembly decides that French votes cast in the Westmorland County election are not legal and should not be counted. As a result, Charles Dixon wins the seat with a majority of "legal" votes.
January 20, 1853 The first undersea telegraph cable in North America is completed between Cape Tormentine and Borden (Prince Edward Island), largely through the efforts of inventor and engineer Frederic Gisborne.
January 20, 1968 Meeting with Acadian delegates from New Brunswick in Paris (France), President Charles de Gaulle pledges cultural, economic and technical assistance to Acadia.
January 21, 1847 In Saint John, Dr. Hunter Peters uses anaesthetic during surgery, for the first time in New Brunswick.
January 21, 1968 Artist, Miller Gore Brittain dies in Saint John at the age of 55. Born in Saint John, Brittain was a Canadian war artist during World War II, and gained international praise for his deeply imaginative and distinctive style.
January 21, 1974 Premier Richard B. Hatfield and federal Secretary of State Hugh Faulkner announce a $2.8 million French language cultural centre (Centre communautaire Sainte-Anne) for Fredericton – the first of its kind in Canada.
January 22, 1901 Death of Her Majesty Queen Victoria.
January 22, 1964 The Roosevelt Campobello International Park agreement is signed by President Lyndon B. Johnson and Prime Minister Lester B. Pearson, during Canada-United States talks in Washington (D.C.).
January 23, 1860 The Charter establishing the University of New Brunswick (formerly King’s College) is officially enacted.
January 24, 1922 The village of Port Elgin is incorporated.
January 24, 1968 The village of Belledune is incorporated.
January 24, 1974 The New Brunswick Supreme Court finds K.C. Irving Ltd. and 3 New Brunswick publishing companies guilty of establishing a monopoly of English-language daily newspapers in the province. The decision is later overturned.
January 25, 1933 Alden Nowlan is born near Windsor (Nova Scotia). With a grade 5 education, Nowlan moves to New Brunswick in 1952, later becoming a nationally respected award winning poet, journalist and playwright.
January 26, 1786 In Saint John, Loyalist citizen, George Handesyde is reprimanded on his knees in the House of Assembly for public criticism of the Assembly.
January 27, 1875 The climax of the Caraquet Riots occurs with the shooting deaths of Louis Mailloux and John Gifford. Denied separate Catholic schools, a number of citizens are seized and arrested for resisting the implementation of New Brunswick's Schools Act.
January 27, 1951 Canada’s Post Office announces that, commencing April 1, home mail deliveries will be reduced to once per day.
January 28, 1764 Nova Scotia Governor, Montague Wilmot recommends that all remaining Acadian refugees be sent to the West Indies.
January 28, 1902 The Honourable Jabez Bunting Snowball, of Chatham, is appointed Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick.
January 28, 1926 Charles “Champ” Gorman, of Saint John, becomes World Speedskating Champion, after winning the event on Lily Lake in Saint John.
January 29, 1833 In his speech to the House of Assembly, His Excellency Major General Sir Archibald Campbell warns New Brunswick to prepare for the “visitation” of Cholera.
January 30, 1654 Nicolas Denys is appointed Lieutenant-General and Governor of Acadia and the entire Gulf of St. Lawrence region. He lives between St. Peters (Cape Breton) and Nepisiguit (Bathurst) - where he dies in 1688.
January 30, 1865 Samuel Leonard Tilley dissolves the New Brunswick Legislature and prepares to oppose Albert James Smith in the historic pre-Confederation election. Smith wins the election, with an overwhelming majority of anti-Confederation seats.
January 30, 1931 The world’s first Boy Scout Apple Day is organized by Eli Boyaner in Saint John.
January 31, 1809 Lemuel Allan Wilmot, politician, judge and Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick, is born in Lincoln. During his political career, Wilmot becomes a leader in the struggle for Responsible Government in New Brunswick.
January 31, 1817 New Brunswick proclaims a law forbidding the shipping of gypsum (plaster of paris) directly to the United States, except through the ports of Saint John or St. Andrews.
January 31, 1849 Newly appointed Lieutenant-Governor Sir Edmund Walker Head addresses the New Brunswick Legislature for the first time. He is the province's first civilian governor.
January 31, 1851 Inventor Thomas Turnbull demonstrates his "Audromonon Carriage" to the Saint John public. New Brunswick's first horseless carriage consists of three wheels drawn by a crank, with an operational lever on each side of the driver's seat.
February 1, 1785 The first session of the Supreme Court of New Brunswick is held in Saint John, under Chief Justice George Duncan Ludlow. A Loyalist, and former Supreme Court Judge in New York, Ludlow had endured the American Revolution on Long Island.
February 1, 1968 The Honourable Wallace Samuel Bird, of Fredericton, is appointed Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick.
February 1, 1977 The 3 Maritime provinces sign an agreement with the federal government, giving the provinces 75 percent of royalties from off-shore mineral discoveries within 5 kilometres of the shoreline, and 100 percent beyond - to the edge of the continental shelf.
February 1, 1993 Canada’s House of Commons approves a constitutional amendment giving equal status to the French and English languages within New Brunswick.
February 2, 0 GROUND HOG DAY
February 2, 1817 Colonel Thomas Carleton, New Brunswick’s first Governor, dies in Ramsgate (England) at the age of 82.
February 2, 1921 Fiddler Ned Landry is born in Saint John. As a boy he teaches himself to play the violin and in 1939 places second with the “New Brunswick Lumberjacks” in CBS radio’s amateur music competition in New York City.
February 3, 1770 The first schooner to be constructed on the river St. John, the "Betsy", sails for Newburyport (Massachusetts), under Captain Jonathan Leavitt. Built by the firm of Simonds and White at Portland Point (Saint John).
February 3, 1853 Historian, Reverend William Odbur Raymond is born in Woodstock.
February 3, 1931 Sporting guides George Allen (Penniac), Archie Brawn (Wirral Station), Herman Good V.C. (South Bathurst), Jack Ogilvie (Kilburn), and William Griffin (Cross Creek) arrive in Boston (Massachusetts) to represent New Brunswick at the Sportsman’s Show.
February 4, 1817 William Botsford, of Westcock, is appointed Speaker of the Legislative Assembly.
February 4, 1856 A new round-trip speed record is established for the ice-boat service between Cape Tormentine and Cape Traverse (Prince Edward Island). The winter crossing is completed in six hours.
February 4, 1925 Ku Klux Klan activity increases as Fredericton defence attorney Fred H. Peters receives a letter warning him not to appeal the murder conviction of Harry Williams. Post-marked at St. Stephen, the letter is signed "KKK".
February 5, 1663 The "Great Earthquake" strikes the north shore of New Brunswick.
February 5, 1920 Eaton's opens a huge mail-order business in Moncton, after completing its six-storey building on Foundry Street. Seven years later, a retail operation is added to the busy enterprise.
February 6, 1880 The death at Old Government House in Fredericton, of Lieutenant-Governor Edward Barron Chandler, ends almost 60 years of public service by one of New Brunswick's most significant 19th century leaders.
February 6, 1952 Upon the death of her father, King George VI , H.R.H. Princess Elizabeth becomes H.M. Queen Elizabeth II, Queen of Great Britain and the Commonwealth.
February 7, 1922 In Rothesay, Wallace R. Turnbull patents the Variable Pitch Propeller. Considered one of the most important developments in the history of aviation, this mechanism allows for change in blade pitch to suit flying conditions and airplane weight.
February 8, 1631 Louis XIII of France names Charles de Saint-Étienne de La Tour Lieutenant General and Governor of Acadia. La Tour establishes a small fortified trading post at the mouth of the river St. John - Fort Sainte-Marie (Fort La Tour).
February 8, 1839 The Aroostook War breaks out between New Brunswick and Maine, in the disputed territory of Madawaska. On March 25, Lieutenant-Governor Sir John Harvey and General Winfield Scott arrange a temporary truce, to be settled by international arbitration.
February 8, 1935 Colonel, the Honourable Murray MacLaren, of Saint John, is appointed Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick.
February 8, 1995 The Right Honourable Roméo LeBlanc becomes Governor General of Canada. Born in Memramcook, His Excellency was the first Governor General from the Atlantic Provinces, and the first Acadian to hold the position
February 9, 1792 Missionary to Acadia, Thomas Cooke is born in Pointe-du-Lac (Quebec). In 1817 Father Cooke is appointed missionary at Chaleur Bay, and establishes his home base in Caraquet.
February 9, 1824 New Brunswick’s first Attorney General, and Administrator of the Government after the death of Lieutenant-Governor Major-General George Tracey Smythe in 1823, Ward Chipman, dies in Fredericton, at the age of 70.
February 9, 1895 Under the pseudonym "Marichette", Memramcook school teacher Émilie LeBlanc Carrier writes her first letter to the newspaper "L'Évangeline", demanding the right to vote for women.
February 9, 1936 Legendary Canadian folksinger, "Stompin" Tom Connors is born at the stroke of midnight in the Saint John General Hospital, son of Isabel Connors and Thomas Joseph Sullivan.
February 10, 1638 Louis XIII gives Charles de La Tour a portion of Acadia, including Cape Sable Island and a trading post at the mouth of the river St. John. Animosity between La Tour and d'Aulnay creates civil war in Acadia, and La Tour is recalled to France in 1641.
February 10, 1638 With the death of Governor de Razilly, Louis XIII appoints Charles de Menou d'Aulnay, Lieutenant-General of Acadia, but limits his authority to Port Royal, La Have, and Pentagouet (Castine, Maine).
February 10, 1763 The Seven Years' War ends with the signing of the Treaty of Paris. All of North America is ceded to Britain, except New Orleans and the small islands of St. Pierre and Miquelon.
February 10, 1824 The first history of New Brunswick, Peter Fisher's " Sketches of New Brunswick", is advertised for sale in the "Royal Gazette" newspaper.
February 10, 1848 The first Provincial Normal School for teacher training is officially opened, on King Street in Fredericton, with J. Marshall d’Avray as principal.
February 10, 1914 The Parish of Notre-Dame-de-L'Assomption is created in Moncton, under the leadership of Reverend Henri Cormier.
February 11, 1833 Lieutenant-Governor Sir Archibald Campbell appoints New Brunswick’s first Executive Council – five individuals who will serve as his personal advisors: Thomas Baillie, Fred Robinson, John Saunders, William Odell, and George Street.
February 11, 1880 The Honourable Robert Duncan Wilmot, of Lincoln, is appointed Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick.
February 11, 1921 Sheriff Tibbits, of Victoria County, is flooded with applications for the job of hangman. Newman Clark is waiting execution on March 1 for the murder of Phoebe Bell in Grand Falls. Price quotes for the service range from $75 to $1,000.
February 11, 1923 Winnifred Blair, "Miss Saint John", is crowned the first "Miss Canada", at the Montreal Winter Carnival. Miss Blair returns by train to the port city amid thousands of cheering supporters.
February 12, 1793 A new session of the Legislature marks the beginning of conflict between the Lieutenant-Governor and elected Assembly. Lieutenant-Governor Carleton writes of a “dangerous democratic spirit” that has invaded New Brunswick from the older colonies.
February 12, 1800 The College of New Brunswick (University of New Brunswick) is established at Fredericton by charter.
February 12, 1867 A draft bill to form the "Dominion of Canada" is introduced in the British House of Lords in London (England). Parliament later passes the British North America Act and it is given Royal Assent on March 29.
February 13, 1917 In Boiestown, Lawrence McCloskey patents the Thermal Windowpane, a window with two glass panes separated by a hollow space, hermetically sealed and filled with alcohol.
February 13, 1959 Contrary to tradition that questions be submitted in writing to the House several days in advance, Louis J. Robichaud issues a direct verbal question to the government, changing the nature of political debate within New Brunswick.
February 13, 1997 The Holmesville Soil Series is proclaimed the official soil symbol of New Brunswick by the Honourable Margaret Norrie McCain, Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick.
February 14, 0 VALENTINE'S DAY
February 14, 1844 Journalist and schoolteacher, Valentin A. Landry is born in Pokemouche. Founding editor of the newspapers "Le Courrier des Provinces Maritimes" and "L'Evangeline", Mr. Landry becomes a leader in the “Acadian Renaissance”.
February 14, 1889 In Saint John, James T. Lipsett patents the Rotary Ventilator, which uses wind power to increase the updraft in chimneys or roof vents. This type of ventilator remains popular today for use in residential air exchange systems.
February 14, 1954 Canadian Cottons Limited announces it will cease operations of the cotton mill in Marysville (Fredericton).
February 14, 1968 Almost 400 students from the Université de Moncton march on Moncton's City Hall shouting "En français! En français!" – protesting the lack of bilingual services in the city.
February 15, 1852 Historian, Pascal Poirier is born in Shediac. In 1885, Senator Poirier becomes Canada’s first Acadian senator, and devotes much of his career to preserving the history, language and culture of Acadia.
February 15, 1965 Canada’s National Flag, based upon a design proposed by Dr. George F. Stanley (future Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick), becomes effective by Royal Proclamation.
February 16, 1813 The first company of New Brunswick's 104th Regiment of Foot leaves Fredericton for Kingston (Ontario). In total, nearly 600 men march 1,100 km on snowshoes, through deep snow and severe cold, in 52 days -one of the longest marches in Canadian history.
February 16, 1882 In Fredericton, the first session of the Legislature to be held in the newly completed Legislative Assembly building, is opened by Lieutenant-Governor R. D. Wilmot. The older “Province Hall” had been destroyed by fire two years previous.
February 17, 1830 The “Royal Gazette” reports that due to the failure of the wheat crop over the past two years, the settlements of Madawaska are now facing starvation. The Honourable Thomas Baillie has been instructed to make arrangements for temporary relief.
February 17, 1839 The first group of New Brunswick militia are called-up for defence in the Aroostook War with Maine.
February 18, 1759 New England Rangers destroy the Acadian settlement of Pointe Sainte-Anne, burning 147 buildings and killing all the livestock. Several settlers are taken prisoner and some are cruelly scalped for bounty.
February 18, 1800 The Supreme Court of New Brunswick announces a split decision on the legality of slavery. A black woman, Nancy Morton, had challenged her enslavement to Caleb Jones, a York County Loyalist.
February 19, 1864 Professor and historian, William Francis Ganong is born in Saint John. Educated at Harvard, Ganong later develops a specialized interest in the geographical history of New Brunswick, documenting the historic sites and original placenames of the province.
February 20, 1845 The House of Assembly passes a motion of non-confidence in Lieutenant-Governor Sir William Colebrooke, and his Executive Council, after Colebrooke appoints his son-in-law, Alfred Reade, to the post of provincial secretary.
February 20, 1863 Twenty-two-year-old Timothy Hegarty, of Miramichi, is promoted to Sergeant of the 6th Battery, Maine Light Artillery, in the American Civil War.
February 20, 1873 Historian, Prudent Mercure is born in Saint-Basile. A dedicated researcher, Mercure devotes most of his life to preserving the history of Madawaska.
February 20, 1954 Radio Station CBAF in Moncton begins broadcasting, providing a French-language service to the Maritimes.
February 21, 1801 The Shire Town for Westmorland County is changed from Westmorland to Dorchester.
February 21, 1828 Eighteen-year-old Patrick Burgan, of York Point (Saint John), is hanged in Saint John for the theft of 25 cents.
February 22, 1785 Governor Thomas Carleton orders the survey of a town at St. Anne’s Point, to be called “Frederick’s Town” (Fredericton), after His Royal Highness the Bishop of Osnabourg.
February 22, 1895 A Woman's Suffrage Bill, introduced and championed by Henry R. Emmerson, Member of the Legislative Assembly for Albert County, is narrowly defeated in the House of Assembly by a vote of 18 to 17.
February 23, 1760 Passamaquoddy Chief Mitchel Neptune and Maliseet Captain Ballomy Glode renew the 1725 and 1749 Treaties of Peace and Friendship – affirming that the agreements “shall for ever thereafter be strictly observed”.
February 24, 1785 Louis Mercure of Aukpaque (Hartt's Island, near Fredericton) writes to Major Holland (Surveyor General for Lower Canada), requesting settlement land for himself and 24 other displaced families - just below the falls of the Madawaska River.
February 24, 1888 In Sussex, George Francis Train announces his lecture series on “White Slavery” in New Brunswick; but the lecture is cancelled when “Old Martin” (a 72 year-old pauper) is prevented from appearing on stage by his owner.
February 24, 1906 A "million dollar fire" destroys much of the Intercolonial Railway Repair Shops in Moncton. The Hon. Henry Emmerson, Westmorland MP and the Minister of Railways and Canals, immediately cables the city promising to have the facilities rebuilt in Moncton.
February 24, 1965 New Brunswick's flag is officially proclaimed. The symbols depicted on the flag were adopted from the Coat of Arms assigned in 1868.
February 25, 1610 At Dieppe (France), Jean de Biencourt de Poutrincourt sets sail for Acadia, to re-occupy the settlement of Port Royal (Nova Scotia). On board is seventeen-year-old Charles de Saint-Étienne de La Tour, returning to Acadia for the second time.
February 25, 1651 Charles de Saint-Étienne de La Tour regains his position as Governor of Acadia.
February 25, 1785 The Great Seal of New Brunswick is sent from England by Lord Sydney to Governor Thomas Carleton.
February 25, 1880 New Brunswick’s first Legislative Assembly building, “Province Hall”, is destroyed by fire in Fredericton. Located on the site of the current building, the cornerstone of Province Hall had been laid by Lieutenant-Governor Thomas Carleton in 1799.
February 26, 1861 James Tibbits, with support from Albert J. Smith, motions in the House of Assembly to establish a committee to investigate the Crown Lands Office. Charles Fisher is blamed for the resulting scandal and removed from council.
February 28, 1789 New Brunswick's first dramatic performances are staged in Saint John. "The Busy Body" and "Who's The Dupe" are presented in the Long Room of the Mallard House on King Street.
February 28, 1825 Scholar and doctor, Joseph Gueguen (Goguen) dies in Cocagne. Having endured the Deportation as a refugee on the Miramichi, Gueguen became one of the founding settlers of Cocagne.
February 28, 1889 Gilbert W. Ganong, of Ganong Bros. Ltd in St. Stephen, patents a process for imprinting the bottom of individual chocolates with a wordmark. Each hand-dipped chocolate bears the initials “GB”.
February 28, 1905 The Fredericton firm of R. Chestnut & Sons obtains a Canadian patent on the wood-and-canvas canoe construction technique that had been invented by Maine canoe builders. The small family firm quickly becomes the major canvas canoe builder in Canada.
February 28, 1923 The Honourable William Frederick Todd, of St. Stephen, is appointed Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick.
February 28, 1923 Peter J. Veniot, of Bathurst, becomes the first Acadian Premier of New Brunswick. Veniot rose to power under the administration of the Hon.Walter Foster, and was selected his successor.
February 29, 1848 Wellington Jackson, a Baptist minister, takes the State Oath.
March 1, 1764 New England entrepreneur James Simonds forms a trading enterprise for the mouth of the St. John, with partners Samuel Blodget, William Hazen, James White, Richard Simonds, and Robert Peaslie.
March 1, 1815 The War of 1812 between Great Britain and the United States comes to an end, and so too the heyday of the privateers. Henceforth, private ship-owners in the Maritimes are no longer allowed to capture American vessels.
March 1, 1827 Commissioner of Crown Lands, Thomas Baillie, introduces New Brunswick's new system of disposing of crown lands at public auction.
March 1, 1837 Restigouche County is established out of Gloucester County, with Dalhousie as the Shire Town.
March 1, 1848 The Sons of Temperance report that after one year of operation, they have 30 divisions in the province.
March 1, 1925 Union of the Presbyterian, Methodist, and Congregational Churches into the United Church of Canada is put to a vote throughout the Maritimes, and is approved despite much opposition.
March 2, 1829 The Saint John almshouse is destroyed by fire.
March 2, 1863 Samuel E. Buckman, is commissioned 2nd Lieutenant of Co. K, 19th Maine Infantry. Buckman was a 31 year-old carpenter from Pennfield who entered the American Civil War in 1862.
March 2, 1911 The Plumbers and Steamfitters Union, Local No 531 is first organized in New Brunswick.
March 2, 1925 A major earth tremor rumbles across the Maritimes, and people rush from quivering buildings to the safety of the streets.
March 3, 1855 Leonard Tilley introduces a controversial liquor prohibition bill, which the House of Assembly passes in 1856. However, the unpopular law proves unenforceable. Tilley's "Smasher Government" loses the election of 1856 and prohibition is repealed.
March 4, 1839 In Saint John, James Elliott and Alexander McAvity patent the “Self-contained Underwater Breathing Apparatus” – known today as the Scuba tank.
March 4, 1863 George E. Fenety is appointed Queen's Printer.
March 5, 1802 The first Public Schools Act is established.
March 5, 1807 The House of Assembly passes a Fishing Rights Act, giving property owners the exclusive right to take fish on waters bounded by their property. The Act is later disallowed by His Majesty in Council.
March 5, 1907 The Honourable Lemuel John Tweedie, of Chatham, is appointed Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick.
March 5, 1940 The Honourable William George Clark, of Fredericton, is appointed Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick.
March 6, 1912 The Honourable Josiah Wood, of Sackville, is appointed Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick.
March 6, 1918 The Blue Cross organizes a special day throughout the Maritimes, in aid of horses needing special care after being wounded or maimed in World War I.
March 7, 1826 Gloucester and Kent counties are established out of Northumberland County, with the towns of Bathurst and Liverpool (Richibucto) as Shire Towns.
March 7, 1839 The Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick grants £3,000 ($12,000) towards the improvement of roads around Temiscouata Lake.
March 8, 1836 Railway fever hits New Brunswick, as the Saint Andrews and Quebec Rail Road Company is incorporated with plans to build a railway line between St. Andrews and Quebec.
March 8, 1866 Lt.Gov. Gordon reads his speech:"I am further directed to express to you the strong and deliberate opinion of Her Majesty's Government,that it is an object much to be desired, that all British N. American Colonies should agree to unite in one Government".
March 8, 1977 RCMP, using tear gas and axes, force their way into a Richibucto motel to evict Jackie Vautour. The Province had moved the Vautours to the motel after bulldozing their house in Fontaine (Kouchibouguac National Park).
March 9, 1885 Pascal Poirier of Shediac becomes Canada's first Acadian Senator. He represents New Brunswick interests in Ottawa and writes many important historical works on Acadia.
March 9, 1895 Robert “Bob” Connors dies while visiting in Hot Springs (Arkansas). Born in Pictou (Nova Scotia), Connors became a highly successful lumber baron and railway entrepreneur in the upper reaches of the river St. John, founding the community of Connors.
March 9, 1934 Women are first granted the right to run for provincial office within New Brunswick.
March 10, 1760 Chief Michael Augustine of Richibucto signs a Treaty of Peace and Friendship at Halifax (Nova Scotia), as a renewal of the agreements of 1725 and 1749 – re-affirming Mi’kmaq hunting and fishing rights.
March 10, 1796 Julia (Beckwith) Hart, the first published Canadian author, is born in Fredericton. In 1824 Hart publishes "St. Ursula's Convent, The Nun of Canada " in Kingston - the first novel written and published in Canada.
March 11, 1818 The petition of Saint John bakers to prohibit the importing of hard bread from the United States is refused by the Executive Council.
March 12, 1664 Charles II of England grants the western region of Acadia between the St. Croix River and the Kennebec River to James, Duke of York.
March 12, 1819 William Pagan, one of New Brunswick's richest Loyalist businessmen, dies in Saint John.
March 12, 1822 Sir Albert J. Smith, Premier, Canadian Minister of Marine and Fisheries, and first Canadian-born to be knighted, is born in Shediac.
March 12, 1955 The Château Albert in Caraquet, originally built in 1907 and designed by architect Nazaire Dugas, is destroyed by fire. A replica now exists within the Village Historique Acadien.
March 13, 1769 After the Seven Year's War between France and Great Britain, permission is granted to Alexis Landry to re-establish at Caraquet.
March 14, 1899 Industrialist K. C. Irving is born in Bouctouche. Starting with a used tank and a few trucks, he founds the Irving Oil Co. in the mid 1920's , and eventually establishes a vast business empire that employs 1 out of every 12 workers in the province.
March 14, 1947 A Red Cross medical center is established at Miscou Harbour, under the direction of Kathleen DeMarsh. She is provided with a horse for her transportation, a gift from the Rothesay branch of the Red Cross.
March 15, 1744 France declares war on Britain in an all-out struggle that becomes known in Europe as the War of the Austrian Succession. In British North America, however, the conflict is called King George's War.
March 15, 1851 New Brunswick enacts a law to begin construction of the European and North American Railroad. The proposed route is to extend from the Nova Scotia border in Westmorland County, south, to Bangor and Portland Maine.
March 15, 1961 The town of Caraquet is incorporated.
March 16, 1836 The Saint John Stage Coach Company and the Woodstock and Fredericton Stage Coach Company are founded by an Act of the Legislative Assembly.
March 17, 1866 The United States ends Reciprocity - the free trade agreement with British North America - under suspicion of Britain's attempts to assist the South during the American Civil War.
March 17, 1902 William Pugsley introduces a Bill in the House of Assembly to provide New Brunswick workers with protection and compensation for injuries received on the job. The Workmen's Compensation for Injuries Act is passed a year later.
March 18, 1936 Moncton is chosen as the first Archdiocese in New Brunswick and on December 1 Mgr. Louis-Joseph-Arthur Melanson is appointed Archbishop.
March 18, 1957 The first McCain’s Food Ltd. potato processing plant is opened in Florenceville by Harrison and Wallace McCain. The 8 oz packages of French-fried potatoes sell for 39 cents each.
March 19, 1985 Violinist Arthur Leblanc dies in Quebec City. Born in St-Anselme in 1906, Arthur Leblanc was recognized world-wide for his extraordinary ability to produce music of “extreme beauty and purity”.
March 20, 1826 Saint John announces tenders will be received for six freemen of the city "of good character" to become British North America's first paid police force.
March 20, 1894 In St. Stephen, J. Roswell Sederquest patents the Cycle Runner, a bicycle attachment mounted in place of the front wheel, making it possible to pedal through snow.
March 20, 1896 The town of Chatham is incorporated.
March 21, 1904 An earthquake is felt in New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and New England.
March 22, 1740 Paul Mascarene arrives from Boston and is appointed President of the Council of Nova Scotia (including present-day New Brunswick). He remains in office at Annapolis Royal until the arrival of Edward Cornwallis at Halifax in 1749.
March 23, 1672 Nicolas Denys' two-volume "Geographical Description and Natural History of the Coast of North America" , written in Nepisiguit (Bathurst), is published in Paris (France).
March 24, 1829 George Francis Train, author, Sussex newspaper editor and campaigner for pauper law reform, is born in Boston.
March 25, 1820 The Bank of New Brunswick is the first bank incorporated in Atlantic Canada. It begins operations on Prince William Street in Saint John, with an initial capital of £50,000.
March 25, 1938 Notre-Dame-de-l'Assomption is proclaimed patron Saint of Acadians by the Vatican.
March 25, 1965 The New Brunswick flag is flown for the first time.
March 27, 1632 Isaac de Razilly is placed in charge of the Company of New France at Port Royal, and is later appointed Lieutenant-Governor of Acadia. This throws into doubt Charles de Saint-Étienne de La Tour's appointment as commander of Acadia.
March 27, 1845 Albert County is established out of Westmorland County, with Hopewell as the Shire Town.
March 27, 1855 The Liquor Prohibition Bill is passed in the Legislative Assembly. This unpopular law takes effect January 1, 1856 and is repealed six months later, after Tilley's "Smasher Government" loses the provincial election.
March 28, 1766 Michael Francklin, merchant-policitian , is appointed lieutenant-governor of Nova Scotia (including present-day New Brunswick).
March 28, 1888 By an Act of the Legislature, Robert Coll is given authority to provide electricity to light the Town of Newcastle.
March 29, 1632 Under the terms of the Treaty of Saint-Germain-en-Laye, England agrees to return Acadia and New France (Québec) to France.
March 29, 1867 The British North America Act, uniting the provinces of Canada, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick into one Dominion of Canada, receives Royal Assent in London (England).
March 29, 1929 CFBO Radio in Saint John hosts Don Messer's first broadcast with a group known as "The New Brunswick Lumberjacks".
March 30, 1848 The City of Fredericton is incorporated.
March 30, 1894 The Women's Enfranchisement Association of New Brunswick is organized in Saint John, under the presidency of Sarah Manning.
March 31, 1831 An Act is passed by the House of Assembly to regulate the size and weight of bread being sold in the towns of Newcastle and Chatham.
March 31, 1831 Carleton County is established out of York County, with Woodstock as the Shire Town.
March 31, 1893 New Brunswick's first electric trolley cars appear on the streets of Saint John.
March 31, 1900 The Collège du Sacré-Coeur in Caraquet is incorporated as a university, with the Reverends Prosper LeBastard, Joseph Haquin, Edward Travert and Joseph Dreau as directors.
March 31, 1954 Atlantic Canada's first television station, CHSJ in Saint John, completes its first month of broadcasting.
March 31, 1960 Aboriginal people in Canada are first permitted to vote in federal elections.
April 1, 1901 Canada's population is counted at 5,371,315, with the three Maritime Provinces dropping to a combined total of just under 17 percent.
April 1, 1932 The Royal Canadian Mounted Police assume provincial policing of New Brunswick.
April 1, 1942 Gas rationing begins throughout the Maritimes to conserve gasoline for the war effort. Ration books are used for non-essential vehicles, and before the year is out butter is also rationed.
April 1, 1951 Canada's postal service is reduced to home mail deliveries of only once per day.
April 1, 1980 Radio-Canada in Moncton announces that Sugarloaf Mountain, a long dormant volcano for hundreds of millions of years, is suddenly erupting. Many in the region become alarmed – before they realize that it is only an April Fool’s joke !
April 2, 1865 Francis A. Anglin, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada, is born in Saint John.
April 2, 1871 Canada's first federal census reports a population of 3,485,761, with New Brunswick and Nova Scotia accounting for a combined total of just over 19 percent.
April 2, 1886 The town of Marysville is incorporated.
April 2, 1886 Mount Allison Wesleyan College and Academies becomes a university - and is renamed The University of Mount Allison College.
April 3, 1852 The death of Alexander Rankin marks the end of the era of the great lumber baron duels on the Miramichi. Rankin and his rival from the south bank, Joseph Cunard, fought for control of the thriving timber industry in the area.
April 4, 1784 First marriage in Parrtown (Saint John) - Hannah Lester and Lieutenant Andrew H. Stockton.
April 4, 1881 A national census reports Canada's population at 4,324,810, with all three Maritime Provinces accounting for 20 percent.
April 5, 1815 Tambora volcano erupts on the Indonesian island of Sumbawa, causing the summer of 1816 (the "Year Without a Summer") to be extremely dark and cold throughout eastern North America.
April 5, 1842 The first public museum in Canada opens in Saint John at the Mechanics Institute. The Gesner Museum includes more than 2,000 items, mainly in the natural history field, and becomes the forerunner of the New Brunswick Museum.
April 5, 1883 First speed skating competition in New Brunswick (Saint John).
April 5, 1891 Canada's population totals 4,833,239, with the three Maritime Provinces accounting for 18 percent.
April 5, 1913 Photographer and artist, George Thomas Taylor dies in Fredericton. Born in Fredericton in 1838, Taylor pioneered photography in the province - extensively documenting everyday life in New Brunswick throughout the last half of the 19th century.
April 5, 1923 "The Daily Gleaner " newspaper reports that Communist advocate and gardening expert Roscoe Fillmore has resigned his position as manager of the St. John Valley Nurseries in Burton and sailed to Russia to join the Soviet revolutionary effort.
April 5, 1932 Henry T. Austin in Blacks Harbour, home of Connors Bros. Ltd., the largest sardine plant of its kind in the world, patents a Sardine Can that is openable with a detachable key.
April 5, 1949 The coat of arms for the mythical “Republic of Madawaska”, designed by P.C. Laporte and J. Gaspard Boucher, is officially registered in Ottawa. Ten knights sit on the Executive of the Order of the Republic, with the Mayor of Edmundston as President.
April 6, 0 TARTAN DAY
April 6, 1888 The New Brunswick Telephone Company is incorporated and begins to take over the telephone system throughout the province.
April 6, 1993 Premier Frank McKenna proclaims April 6 as Tartan Day in New Brunswick: a day to remember and appreciate the contributions made by Scottish immigrants and their descendants.
April 7, 1691 Joseph Robineau de Villebon becomes Commandant of Acadia. During the winter of 1691-92, Villebon erects a fort at the junction of the Nashwaak and St. John Rivers, Fort Saint-Joseph - the capital of Acadia until 1697.
April 7, 1866 An historic encounter in Fredericton's Old Government House occurs between Lt.-Gov. Arthur Hamilton Gordon and Premier Albert J. Smith over N. B.'s place in Confederation. Despite a majority in the legislature, Smith is forced to resign his government.
April 7, 1892 At the close of the legislative session, New Brunswick’s Legislative Council ceases to exist as a legislative body, having been abolished the year previous.
April 7, 1899 New Brunswick's Women's Enfranchisement Association floods the Legislature with 12 petitions, containing almost 4,000 signatures, asking for a suffrage bill. On April 13, Premier Emmerson introduces an enfranchisement bill - but it is voted down 34 to 7.
April 7, 1976 The town of Nackawic is incorporated.
April 8, 1874 The Caraquet Railway Company is formed, to establish a railway connecting the Village of Caraquet and Shippagan Harbour to the Intercolonial Railway near Bathurst.
April 9, 1825 The Saint John Agricultural and Emigrant Society is formed.
April 9, 1931 Richard Bennett Hatfield is born in Woodstock. First elected Premier of New Brunswick in 1970, Hatfield gains the distinction of New Brunswick’s longest-serving Premier.
April 10, 1706 Daniel d'Auger de Subercase, Governor of the French possession at Placentia, Newfoundland, is appointed Governor of Acadia and takes up residence at Port Royal.
April 10, 1866 The Irish Fenians gather at Eastport (Maine), threatening to invade N. B. - beginning at Campobello - and annex the region to the United States. British defenses dispatch warships and troops to the area - interest in Confederation reaches a high point.
April 10, 1892 Milton Fowler Gregg is born at Mountain Dale (Snider Mountain). During World War I, he receives the Victoria Cross for his “initiative and bravery”. Later in life he serves as United Nations representative in Iraq and administrator of UNICEF in Indonesia.
April 11, 1713 The Treaty of Utrecht formally ends the War of the Spanish Succession. Territory in Acadia (Nova Scotia) is ceded to Great Britain, while possession of lands north of the Bay of Fundy (New Brunswick) remain in dispute.
April 11, 1786 Thomas Mallard announces in the "Royal Gazette" that he has acquired the schooner "Four Sisters" and has established a weekly passenger and cargo service from Saint John to Fredericton.
April 11, 1816 The first river steamboat in New Brunswick, the "General Smyth", is launched at Saint John. On May 20, the " General Smyth " begins its maiden voyage upriver from Saint John to Fredericton.
April 11, 1848 Sir Edmund Walker Head is appointed Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick, having previously been Poor Law Commissioner in London (England). His administration is highlighted by a peaceful adoption of Responsible Government in the province.
April 11, 1853 Moncton shipbuilder Joseph Salter gives his workers better working conditions and a shorter work day. This date is observed as New Brunswick's first Labour Day.
April 11, 1914 In St. Andrews, the original Algonquin Hotel is destroyed by fire – and rebuilt the following year.
April 11, 1969 A draft bill, making New Brunswick the only officially bilingual province in Canada is adopted unanimously in the Legislative Assembly.
April 12, 1751 New France Governor La Jonquière issues an ordinance calling on all Acadians in French territory north of the Missaguash River to take an oath of allegiance to France, with the possibility of bearing arms.
April 12, 1855 New Brunswick becomes the first province in British North America to adopt the secret ballot for electing members to the House of Assembly.
April 12, 1867 The Imperial Canada Railway Loan Act is passed in London, which provides for a British guarantee of £3 million to begin construction of the Intercolonial Railway between Halifax and Quebec.
April 13, 1844 Victoria County is established out of Carleton County, with Colebrooke (Grand Falls) as the Shire Town.
April 13, 1859 By an Act of the Legislature, King's College is transformed into the University of New Brunswick, with its new charter guaranteeing a non-denominational provincial institution open to all students regardless of religious persuasion.
April 13, 1866 Two boatloads of Fenians land on the outskirts of St. Stephen, but are frightened off when the alarm is raised by a messenger. "Old Joe" Young rides through the town Paul Revere style shouting "Arm yourselves! The Fenians are upon you!"
April 13, 1876 The Shire Town for Victoria County is changed from Colebrooke to Andover.
April 14, 1866 The Irish Fenians invade Indian Island, near Campobello. Four days later United States military disarm and disperse the invaders by authority of the Neutrality Act.
April 14, 1873 Madawaska County is established out of Victoria County, with Edmundston as the Shire Town.
April 14, 1912 The luxury liner "RMS Titanic", on her maiden voyage from Southampton England to New York City, strikes an iceberg off the coast of Newfoundland.
April 15, 1861 Poet Bliss Carman is born in Fredericton. As an adult he becomes one of Canada's best known poets, writing lyrics on nature, love, and the open road. His most famous poem, "Low Tide on Grand Pre", is published in 1893 and wins international recognition.
April 15, 1890 Pierre-Amand Landry becomes New Brunswick's first Acadian judge.
April 15, 1919 After almost 50 years of debating the issue, New Brunswick women are granted the right to vote in provincial elections.
April 16, 1764 James Simonds, James White, Jonathan Leavitt, and a party of approximately 30 tradesmen arrive at Portland Point (Saint John) from Massachusetts to establish the first permanent English settlement.
April 16, 1891 The Legislative Council, New Brunswick’s appointed Upper House, is abolished.
April 16, 1903 The villages of Andover and Perth are incorporated together as a district, for the purpose of providing residents with electric light, power and heat.
April 17, 1645 With Charles de La Tour in Boston, seeking help to maintain his hold in Acadia, arch-rival Charles d'Aulnay de Charnisay attacks Fort La Tour. After an heroic defense, La Tour's wife, Françoise-Marie Jacquelin, surrenders and dies soon after.
April 17, 1851 One of Canada's most famous clipper ships, the " Marco Polo ", is launched at Marsh Creek near Saint John. Built by James Smith at Courtenay Bay, the " Marco Polo " earns the title of the Fastest Ship in the World.
April 17, 1889 The cities of Saint John and Portland agree to merge, becoming one City of Saint John.
April 17, 1908 Rev. Joseph Owens, author, philosopher and president of the Metaphysics Society of America, is born in Saint John.
April 18, 1866 With the intent of leading New Brunswick into Confederation, Lieutenat Governor Arthur Hamilton Gordon calls upon Peter Mitchell to form a new government after the resignation of Premier Albert J. Smith.
April 19, 1750 Acadians at Grand Pré, Pisiquit and Canard River ask Governor Cornwallis for permission to leave Acadia, but are refused.
April 19, 1931 A statue of Evangeline, modelled after Mexican actress Dolores del Rio, is unveiled at St. Martinville (Louisiana) - commemorating the deportation of the Acadians and Longfellow's famous literary creation.
April 20, 1534 Jacques Cartier departs the ancient seaport of Saint-Malo (France) for the New World.
April 20, 1900 Saint John born medical officer William H.S. Nickerson earns the Victoria Cross at Wakkerstroom,during the South African War.Going out under heavy fire, Nickerson saves the life of a soldier ("whose entrails were protruding") by stitching up his stomach.
April 20, 1904 The town of Sussex is incorporated.
April 20, 1927 Prohibition ends in New Brunswick, with the government becoming involved in the sale of liquor through the New Brunswick Liquor Control Board.
April 21, 1866 Fenian raiders,on board the hired schooner "Two Friends" out of Lubec Maine,capture the "Winthrop" near Campobello Island - "in the name of the Irish Republic".Upon arrival of British warships, the raiders sink the "Two Friends" and return to Eastport.
April 21, 1926 Princess Elizabeth Alexandra Mary (Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II) is born in London (England), the first child of HRH The Duke and Duchess of York (King George VI and Queen Elizabeth).
April 21, 1927 The New Brunswick Provincial Police Force is established.
April 21, 1933 The Moncton Hawks are greeted at the CN station in Moncton, the first Maritime hockey team to win the Allan Cup, Canadian amateur hockey's highest award. The team repeats as Canadian champions the following year.
April 22, 1786 Sir Guy Carleton is appointed Governor-in-Chief of British North America. His brother, Colonel Thomas Carleton, becomes Lieutenant Governor of New Brunswick.
April 22, 1919 In Fredericton, Stephen L. Chauncey Coleman patents the Stabilizing Bar for motor vehicle suspensions. A prolific inventor, Coleman later develops many improvements in automobile technology.
April 23, 0 ST. GEORGE'S DAY
April 23, 1890 The rapidly growing railway town of Moncton is re-incorporated as New Brunswick's third city.
April 23, 1890 The town of Grand Falls is incorporated.
April 23, 1892 Moncton's first railway union with international affiliation is established as the Moncton Lodge 226 of the International Association of Machinists.
April 24, 1920 The New Brunswick Electric Power Commission is established by Order-In-Council.
April 24, 1920 The Association of Professional Engineers of New Brunswick is incorporated.
April 25, 1785 In a dispatch to Lord Sydney, Governor Thomas Carleton announces his plan to establish St. Ann's Point (Fredericton) as the future seat of government for New Brunswick.
April 25, 1845 Queen Victoria declares Fredericton a city. Despite a population of only 4,000, ancient ecclesiastic law requires that the center of any new diocese be a city.
April 26, 1850 "The New Brunswick Society for the Encouragement of Agriculture, Home Manufactures, and Commerce Throughout the Province" is established.
April 26, 1909 Saint John Magistrate Ritchie rules that electricity is indeed a commodity. Charles Kerr of the Bijou Moving Picture Theatre is found guilty of stealing electricity by tapping into the St. John Railway Company.
April 27, 1841 Sir William McBean George Colebrooke is appointed Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick, having previously been lieutenant-governor of the Leeward Islands and Antigua.
April 27, 1858 Michael Whelan (the “Poet of the Renous”) is born in Renous to Irish immigrant parents. At the age of 20, he takes up writing and becomes a well known folk poet all along the Miramichi.
April 27, 1884 Ivan C. Rand, Justice of the Supreme Court of Canada and conceiver of the "Rand Formula" for Unions, is born in Moncton.
April 27, 1895 Lilianne (Allain) Dubocquet is born in Néguac. A member of the Resistance Movement in Paris (France) during WWII, she later receives accolades from the United States and Britain for her work in sheltering escapees during the Nazi occupation.
April 27, 1950 Despite mass protests, Premier John B. McNair imposes a four percent sales tax in New Brunswick to help finance education and social services. Two years later, McNair and his party are defeated at the polls.
April 28, 1783 William Davidson of the Miramichi is elected to the Nova Scotia House of Assembly to represent Sunbury County (all of New Brunswick).
April 28, 1939 A twin-engine Russian monoplane attempting a non-stop flight from Moscow to New York runs out of fuel and crash-lands on Miscou Island.
April 29, 1916 New Brunswick adopts the practice of Daylight Saving time.
April 29, 1924 In St. Stephen, Arthur Hall and William McVay patent the Partitioned Concrete Sidewalk, which will prevent concrete breakage by allowing movement with the frost during winter. This invention is now standard practise in building sidewalks.
April 29, 1952 The city of Edmundston is incorporated.
April 30, 1765 Sunbury County is established as the northern-most county of Nova Scotia, encompassing most of present-day New Brunswick.
April 30, 1873 Fredericton City Council approves James Tibbetts' application to erect a sawmill on " The Green " below Christ Church Cathedral. Citizens are outraged and succeed in cancelling the project.
April 30, 1905 John Peters Humphrey, principal author of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (“The Magna Carta of Mankind”) is born in Hampton.
April 30, 1923 The hydro-electric dam at Musquash breaks "with a crashing that surpassed the loudest thunder", washing out everything in its path - houses, barns, roads and bridges.
May 1, 1837 Major-General Sir John Harvey is appointed Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick. A popular and diplomatic leader, a dispute with the United States over the boundary line with Maine is brought to a peaceful settlement through his tact.
May 1, 1843 New Brunswick's first official coins, the Penny and Halfpenny Copper tokens, commence circulation. Before this date prices were quoted in New Brunswick currency, although Spanish, British, or American coins were actually used.
May 1, 1856 The Town of Woodstock is incorporated.
May 1, 1917 Prohibition commences in New Brunswick, making the sale of liquor unlawful - except for "medicinal, scientific, sacramental, and mechanical purposes". This law remains in effect for 10 years.
May 1, 1987 The Balsam Fir (Abies balsamea) is proclaimed the provincial tree for New Brunswick, by an Order-in-Council.
May 2, 1786 The first libel trial in New Brunswick begins in Saint John. Printers William Lewis and John Ryan are charged with publishing inflammatory articles. They are found guilty by a jury, fined and made to post a security bond against future infractions.
May 2, 1811 Henry Chubb begins the "New Brunswick Courier" newspaper in Saint John. The Courier becomes a training ground for many prominent newspapermen, and champions the rights of the elected Assembly during the struggle for Responsible Government in the 1830's.
May 3, 1845 The revolutionary steamboat "Reindeer" is launched near the mouth of the Nashwaak River, opposite Fredericton. Equipped with the world's first practical marine compound steam engine and designed by New Brunswick inventor Benjamin F. Tibbitts.
May 3, 1860 "The Woodstock Journal" cries foul after discovering that local politician and postmaster Charles Connell has replaced Queen Victoria's head on the new five cent stamp with his own face. Connell later resigns his post in disgrace.
May 3, 1935 Bathurst's Sir James Dunn becomes Chairman and President of Algoma Steel.
May 3, 1945 The Town of Rothesay is incorporated.
May 3, 2003 Following a federal announcement that the Gulf of St. Lawrence crab quota will be reduced by 20%, enraged fishers in Shippagan set fire to 4 crab fishing boats, 2 processing plants, and a federal building.
May 4, 1845 The Rev. John Medley, vicar of St. Thomas, Exeter (England), and prebendary of Exeter Cathedral, is consecrated New Brunswick's first Anglican Bishop of Fredericton (all of the province).
May 4, 1985 Frank McKenna is elected leader of the Liberal Party. On October 13, 1987, McKenna's Liberals take all 58 seats in the provincial election.
May 5, 1905 The first automobile license in New Brunswick is issued to J. Walter Holley of Saint John, for his 18 horsepower Rambler.
May 5, 1909 Convicts William Parks and Carl Schultz escape from a chain gang working near Saint John. Schultz is quickly rearrested; but Parks remains on the loose for some time. Parks was serving a one year sentence for stealing a pair of boots.
May 6, 1784 Moses Gerrish begins the Loyalist settlement of Grand Manan, with 50 families on a small island forming the eastern side of Grand Harbour (Ross Island).
May 6, 1845 William Watts of Fredericton is granted a patent on the "Watts Potato Digger".
May 7, 1823 Major-General George Stracey Smythe, Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick, dies in Fredericton and is buried in the vault of the Parish Church. His remains are later transferred to the vault of Christ Church Cathedral after its completion in 1853.
May 7, 1869 New Brunswick's Provincial Seal is authorized by Royal Warrant.
May 7, 1901 Moncton inventor Alex Carter and machinist Walter S. Bowness build New Brunswick's first automobile in their shop on Victoria Street.
May 7, 1945 German forces surrender in western Europe and World War II ends in Europe.
May 8, 1818 Sir Samuel Leonard Tilley, one of Canada's most important Fathers of Confederation, is born in Gagetown.
May 8, 1828 John Baker goes to trial in Fredericton for conspiracy. Baker had raised the American flag over Madawaska Settlement, claiming the area as United States territory. Upon resisting arrest, he was finally taken prisoner by posse.
May 8, 1848 The vessel "Star" out of Ireland, with 63 of 383 passengers sick with typhus, arrives at St. Andrews. The immigrants had hoped to find work constructing the new St. Andrews & Quebec Railway, but are quarantined on Hospital Island in Passamaquoddy Bay.
May 8, 1871 The Treaty of Washington sets out rights for American access to Canadian inshore fishing waters, as well as some navigation rights on Canadian rivers, including allowing Maine's lumber industry to float logs down the St. John River.
May 8, 1901 The community of Kingston, in Kent County, officially changes its name to Rexton.
May 8, 1989 Leopold Belliveau is elected Moncton's first Acadian mayor.
May 9, 1909 Canada's foremost performer of old-time fiddle music, Don Messer is born in Tweedside. During the 1930's Messer forms his first band, "The New Brunswick Lumberjacks" and later gains national recognition with the CBC television show "Don Messer's Jubilee".
May 10, 1783 The first Loyalist ships sail into Saint John harbour. The tiny Parrtown settlement is soon overflowing with refugees. A fleet of 20 vessels had left Sandy Hook in New York with Americans loyal to the British crown.
May 10, 1873 Nearly 600 Scottish immigrants aboard the "Castalia" arrive in Saint John harbour, destined to establish the "Scotch Colony" of Kincardine.
May 10, 1937 Michael Whelan, the “Poet of the Renous”, dies in Chatham. A well known folk poet who extolled the beauties of the Miramichi, Whelan dies in poverty and is buried in a pauper’s grave.
May 11, 1963 While visiting President Kennedy in Massachusetts, Prime Minister Lester B. Pearson accepts former President Franklin Delano Roosevelt's summer residence on Campobello Island as an international park.
May 12, 1689 King William's War begins between England and France, with New Englanders and their Iroquois allies in North America pitted against New France and their numerous Native allies, including Mi'kmaq and Maliseet.
May 13, 1765 Shiploads of Acadians in exile continue to arrive at the port of New Orleans in Louisiana.
May 13, 1815 Loyalist, Edward Winslow, dies in Fredericton. A direct descendant of the "Mayflower" settlers of 1620, Winslow was an influential leader in the movement to create a separate province of New Brunswick - "The most gentlemanlike one on the earth"
May 13, 1908 New premier Douglas Hazen meets with New Brunswick's Enfranchisement Association, but refuses their request for voting rights - advising women to "cling to lines of activity for which they are suited, than be burdened with the public work of the country".
May 13, 1924 In Sackville, L.W. Daman patents the Pipeless Furnace, which features a central heating unit with a large single floor grill. This type of furnace remains popular until the 1970’s, when floor vents are introduced.
May 14, 1776 A public meeting is held at Maugerville and a rebel committee of 12 is appointed to make immediate application to Massachusetts Bay for assistance under the present "distressed circumstances" - in support of the American Revolution.
May 15, 1799 In Fredericton, Lieutenant-Governor Thomas Carleton lays the cornerstone for New Brunswick’s first Legislative Assembly building (“Province Hall”). Destroyed by fire in 1880, Province Hall is replaced by the current Legislative Assembly building in 1882.
May 16, 1762 Massachusetts settlers, led by Francis Peabody, set sail from Newburyport, to establish a township on the river St. John. At Pointe Ste-Anne (Fredericton) they encounter Maliseet warriors, then move downriver to establish Maugerville.
May 16, 1785 Jonathan Bliss arrives from England to assume his duties as the first Attorney General of New Brunswick.
May 17, 1686 Monsignor de Saint-Vallier, Bishop of New France, arrives at Grand Falls as part of a 5 month visit to Acadia. His account of the journey is later published in Paris - one of the first written records of inland travel in the Maritimes.
May 17, 1871 The Shire Town for Kings County is changed from Kingston to Hampton.
May 17, 1871 The Town of St. Stephen is incorporated.
May 17, 1871 A Common Schools Act is established in New Brunswick, calling for free schools through public funding and a non-denominational curriculum. The abolition of separate Catholic schools creates immense controversy.
May 17, 1918 Home-made candy from cane sugar is disallowed in New Brunswick. To conserve sugar for the war effort, people are limited to only a 15 day supply in their homes.
May 18, 0 International Museum Day
May 18, 1783 The "Spring Fleet" of approximately 7000 Loyalists commence landing at Parrtown (Saint John).
May 18, 1785 Saint John County is established, with the city of Saint John as the Shire Town.
May 18, 1785 Parrtown and Carleton, at the mouth of the St. John, are amalgamated by Royal Charter and renamed Saint John - Canada's first city.
May 18, 1885 The New Brunswick militia assembles at Camp Sussex, in preparation for active service in the North West Rebellion.
May 18, 1988 His Beatitude Maximos V, Catholic melkite greek Patriarch of Antioche and the Orient, of Alexandria and Jerusalem, visits the Popes' Museum in Grande-Anse, granting his Apostolic Blessing, accompanied by the Ikonomos Monseigneur Georges Farrese.
May 19, 1632 Isaac de Razilly is named lieutenant-general for the King of France and receives the seigneury of Sainte-Croix.
May 19, 1927 Italy's Colonel De Pinedo arrives at Shippagan by hydroplane. He commenced his flight from Rome on February 13, flying down the African coast, across the Atlantic, and northward through the United States.
May 20, 1676 Jacques de Chambly is re-appointed Governor of Acadia, although Pierre de Joybert maintains his position as colonial administrator at Fort Jemseg - the capital of Acadia from 1676 to 1678.
May 20, 1786 York County Maliseet Pierre Bonwah is shot dead in his canoe on the river St. John, over a dispute about missing hogs. A trial the next month in Fredericton finds Loyalist settlers David Nelson and William Harboard guilty of murder. Nelson is hanged.
May 20, 1786 Governor Thomas Carleton’s official title is changed to that of Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick and Commander-in-Chief of the Forces, while his brother, Sir Guy Carleton, becomes Governor-in-Chief of British North America.
May 20, 1816 New Brunswick's first steamboat, the " General Smyth ", sails on her first trip from Saint John to Fredericton. Stopping over at Maugerville, the steamer arrives the next morning at Fredericton - to a tumultuous reception.
May 20, 1848 Lt.- Governor Sir Edmund Head forms the first “Responsible Government” in New Brunswick - selecting for his Executive Council, Edward B. Chandler, Robert L. Hayes, William B. Kinnear, John R. Partelow, and reformers Lemuel A. Wilmot and Charles Fisher.
May 20, 1873 Parliament agrees to a resolution, moved by Samuel Leonard Tilley, that Prince Edward Island enter into Confederation. Prince Edward Island agrees and by an Imperial Order-in-Council on June 26, the colony is admitted into the Canadian Confederation.
May 20, 1895 In Saint John, Philias Bertrand patents the Inserted Saw Tooth for use in the sawmill industry.
May 22, 1820 The Executive Council authorizes £125 for a mail courier between Fredericton and the Miramichi and an additional £50 for the courier from Miramichi to Nepisiguit (Bathurst).
May 22, 1851 Gilbert White Ganong is born in Springfield. Moving to St. Stephen, Ganong enters into a partnership with his brother James to establish Ganong Bros. in 1873 - the largest manufacturers of confectionary products in Canada.
May 22, 1867 Queen Victoria issues a Royal Proclamation for uniting the Provinces of Canada, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick into one Dominion. The union is to be effective July 1, 1867.
May 22, 1958 The Honourable Joseph Leonard O’Brien, of Nelson (Miramichi), is appointed Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick.
May 23, 1906 Moncton mayor James Ryan is found guilty of two counts of assault in physical attacks against newspaper publisher John Hawke. The guilty judgement is the result of brutal fist fights in Hawke's newspaper office and Moncton's Council Chambers.
May 24, 1650 Governor of Acadia, Charles de Menou d'Aulnay dies after his canoe capsizes in Port Royal Basin, and is buried at Port Royal. D'Aulnay's widow, Jeanne Motin, and his former rival, Charles de Saint-Étienne de La Tour, sign a marriage contract in 1653.
May 24, 1819 Queen Victoria's birthday. Born the daughter of Edward, the Duke of Kent, and Princess Victoria of Saxe-Coburg, H.R.H. Princess Victoria becomes Queen in 1837 - after the death of her uncle William IV.
May 24, 1882 First issue of the "Moncton Transcript" newspaper (forerunner to the current "Times & Transcript").
May 24, 1900 Canada's first Empire Day takes place in Fredericton, organized by the New Brunswick Auxiliary of the Imperial Order of the Daughters of the Empire.
May 24, 1918 Federal voting rights are granted to women throughout Canada and, gradually, full voting and political rights are issued.
May 25, 1815 Over 300 Black Refugees, escaped slaves from Virginia and Maryland who found shelter in British occupied Chesapeake Bay during the War of 1812, arrive in Saint John harbour aboard the "H.M.S. Regulus". They eventually settle near Loch Lomond.
May 25, 1875 Saint John's Grace Annie Lockhart becomes the first woman in the British Empire to earn a university degree, as she graduates from Mount Allison University with a Bachelor of Science and English Literature.
May 25, 1878 Albert James Smith of Dorchester becomes the first native-born New Brunswicker to be knighted by a British monarch.
May 25, 1879 Industrialist and newspaper baron Sir William Maxwell Aitken (Lord Beaverbrook) is born in Maple, Ontario, and later moves to Newcastle, where he spends his boyhood years.
May 25, 1939 Molly Kool of Alma becomes Canada's first woman sea captain. After receiving her ticket, Molly takes command of the vessel " Jean K " and works the coastal trade throughout the Bay of Fundy until after World War II.
May 25, 1971 The Council of Maritime Premiers is formed to foster increased co-operation between the three provinces.
May 26, 1784 Captain Nehemiah Marks comes ashore on the banks of the St. Croix River with 200 settlers. Upon landing, they raise the British flag and name their new settlement "Morristown" (St. Stephen).
May 26, 1868 New Brunswick's Coat of Arms is assigned by Queen Victoria. On September 25, 1984 additions are granted by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II during a public ceremony in Fredericton to mark the 200th anniversary of the establishment of the province.
May 27, 1818 In order to avoid trade restrictions with the United States, Saint John and Halifax are declared free ports. Shelburne and St. Andrews are also given free trade status.
May 27, 1853 The “Provincial Patriot” newspaper reports 91 square rigged vessels and 70 schooners at anchor in Saint John harbour.
May 28, 1873 In Fredericton, James H. Miller patents “Miller’s Flanger”, a pair of scrapers that attach to the cowcatcher on locomotives, used to clear railway tracks of ice and snow.
May 28, 1895 Owens Art Gallery, the oldest university art gallery in Canada, re-opens on the Mount Allison campus in Sackville, having been relocated from Saint John two years previous.
May 29, 1900 Theodore H. Rand, educator, poet and former chancellor of McMaster University, dies in Fredericton. As the first Superintendent of Education under the controversial Schools Act of 1871, Rand led the reform of New Brunswick's school system.
May 30, 1814 In Saint John, an Ox roast is held in King Square to celebrate the abdication of Napoleon Bonaparte.
May 30, 1957 Yvon Durelle, the “Fighting Fisherman” from Baie Ste.-Anne, wins the British Empire light-heavyweight crown at Moncton, in a 2 round knockout decision over Gordon Wallace of Brantford (Ontario). Durelle later challenges Archie Moore for the world title.
May 31, 1872 Six families, under the leadership of Captain Heller, depart Copenhagen (Denmark) by steamship, destined to establish the settlement of New Denmark.
May 31, 1880 Moncton's "Daily Times" reports a "crazy man in the vicinity of High Street roaming about entirely naked with the exception of a sheep skin girdle in which is fixed a knife. He is said to live in the woods."
June 1, 1905 The publishing headquarters for "L'Évangline" (the "National newspaper for Acadia") is moved from Weymouth (Nova Scotia) to Moncton.
June 1, 1911 A new national census reports that New Brunswick's population has grown by 6 percent to reach 351,889 - although only 13 percent of Canada's population make their home in the Maritime Provinces.
June 1, 1921 Canada's population is pegged at 8,788,483 with New Brunswick at 387,876 (an increase of 10 percent). The Maritime Provinces account for only 11 percent of the total population of the Canadian Dominion.
June 1, 1931 The Maritime Provinces account for 10 percent of Canada's population, with New Brunswick reporting an increase of 5 percent - totaling 408,219.
June 1, 1938 The Hon. C.D. Howe, federal Minister of Transport, officially opens a new steel railway bridge spanning the river St. John at Fredericton. Replacing a previous structure destroyed by ice in 1936, it is re-opened as a walking bridge on August 4, 1997.
June 1, 1951 New Brunswick's population reaches 515, 697, and leads the Maritime Provinces with a growth rate of 13 percent. In total however, the Maritimes only account for 9 percent of Canada's national population.
June 1, 1961 Comprising 8 percent of Canada's population, the Maritimes have continued to grow, but the rest of Canada has grown faster. New Brunswick reports an increase of 8 percent, totaling 597,936 - compared to a national average of 13 percent and 18,238,247.
June 1, 1997 The Confederation Bridge, linking Prince Edward Island with New Brunswick, is officially opened with a giant foot race and a walk in which more than 50,000 people participate.
June 2, 1941 For the first time since Confederation, the Maritime Provinces are experiencing a population growth equal to the national average, with New Brunswick and Nova Scotia exceeding the rest of Canada by 2 percent. New Brunswick reports 457,401 people.
June 3, 1766 Moncton Township's anglophone settlers arrive on a sloop commanded by Captain John Hall. Eight families from Philadelphia land near the mouth of Hall's Creek and are given grants of land totaling 17,611 acres.
June 3, 1770 The "Snow Queen" drops anchor in “Harbour de L'Outre in the Island of Passamaquoddy", with 38 Lancashire indentured settlers and 15 crewmen. Their "Principal Proprietor" (landlord) and leader, Captain William Owen, names his island "Campo Bello".
June 3, 1847 The Irish immigrant ship “Looshtauk” reaches Middle Island, on the Miramichi, with all but two of its passengers sick with typhus. Having departed Liverpool with 467 passengers bound for Quebec, 146 died while crossing the Atlantic.
June 3, 1935 Fredericton writer and founding member of the "Poets of Confederation", Sir Charles G.D. Roberts, becomes the first Canadian poet to be knighted for his inspirational work in establishing Canada's early national literary movement.
June 3, 1959 The New Brunswick provincial tartan, designed by Patricia Jenkins of Gagetown, is accepted by the Court of The Lord Lyon, King-of-Arms in Edinburgh (Scotland), as "The New Brunswick Tartan" - and recorded as a registered design.
June 3, 1973 Founding of the Société des Acadiens du Nouveau-Brunswick (SANB) in Shippagan, following recommendations made by the "Congres des francophones" held in Fredericton the previous year.
June 3, 1975 New Brunswick Day is established as a provincial holiday, to be celebrated every first Monday of August.
June 3, 2004 A glitch in the Royal Bank of Canada's national computer system delays the electronic deposit of pay cheques for thousands of employees within New Brunswick.
June 4, 1726 The 1725 Treaty of Peace and Friendship is ratified at Annapolis Royal (Nova Scotia) by the Mi’kmaq, Maliseet, Passamaquoddy and Penobscot Nations – re-affirming Wabanahki hunting, fishing and planting grounds.
June 4, 1785 Charlotte County is established, with St. Andrews as the Shire Town.
June 4, 1903 Motivated by a desire to improve the poor salaries and working conditions for teachers throughout New Brunswick, the Albert County Teacher’s Union undergoes a name change to become the New Brunswick Teachers’ Union.
June 4, 1904 "Sage-femme d'Acadie", nurse and midwife Edith (Branch) Pinet is born in Burnsville. Over her 40-year career as a practicing midwife, Pinet delivers more than 3,000 babies in the region of Paquetville - including singer Édith Butler
June 4, 1936 The wreck of C.N.R. Engine #1218 occurs on route between Newcastle and Devon, resulting in the death of engineer Murray Hoyt.
June 5, 1854 Great Britain and the United States sign a Reciprocity Treaty, thereby ensuring free entry of British North American wood, fish, and farm products into the United States in exchange for American access to the sea fishery along coastal waters.
June 5, 1860 The Honourable Sir John Douglas Hazen, Premier and Chief Justice of New Brunswick, is born in Oromocto.
June 5, 1882 John Mitchell Lyons, of Moncton, patents the Separable Baggage Check, a coupon ticket method still used today in bus, train and air travel.
June 5, 1981 The first teachers' strike occurs in New Brunswick; 1,000 teachers demonstrate outside of the Legislative building, demanding a 37 percent wage increase over 27 months. A tentative settlement is reached on the weekend, and classes resume Monday morning.
June 6, 1919 The Canadian National Railways Corporation is created by a federal Order-in-Council, merging several railways - including the Intercolonial, Grand Trunk, and Canadian Northern – to become the largest railway system in Canada.
June 6, 1944 D-Day invasion of Europe ("The Scarlet Dawn") includes the 3rd Canadian Division - 7th, 8th and 9th Canadian Brigades. The North Shore (New Brunswick) Regiment lands at Saint Aubin-sur-mer, a tiny village on the French coast of Normandy.
June 6, 1987 The Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency (ACOA), a regional development agency with a mandate to assist businesses in creating opportunity and employment, is established with an annual budget of $200 million.
June 7, 1901 Henry B. Hachey, author and chief oceanographer of Canada, is born in Bathurst.
June 7, 1984 “L’Acadie NOUVELLE” commences publication in Caraquet.
June 7, 2002 Following the passage of a new Official Languages Act, Premier Bernard Lord pays tribute to former premier Louis J. Robichaud, whose government in 1969 established the original act making New Brunswick the first bilingual province in Canada.
June 8, 1911 Opening in Shediac of the Sisters of Providence Hospice - a shelter for the homeless and infirm.
June 9, 1744 Joseph Mathurin Bourg, the first Acadian to take holy orders, is born at River Canard (Nova Scotia). Upon ordination at Montreal in 1772, Father Bourg is appointed missionary to Acadia, and establishes his headquarters at Carleton on Chaleur Bay.
June 9, 1817 The cornerstone is laid for the first brick building in Saint John, built by John Nutting on the corner of Germain and Union Streets.
June 9, 1964 Lord Beaverbrook, Sir Max Aitken, New Brunswick's distinguished son, and one of the most successful businessmen to emerge from the Maritime Provinces, dies in Surrey (England).
June 9, 1965 The Honourable John Babbit McNair, of Fredericton, is appointed Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick.
June 10, 1783 Royal instructions are sent to Nova Scotia, directing the Governor to grant lands without fee to Loyalist settlers. Non-commissioned officers receive 200 acres, while privates and other heads of families are given 100 acres.
June 10, 1785 Joseph Daigle and 24 displaced families from Sainte-Anne-des-Pays-Bas (Fredericton) obtain permission to settle at Madawaska. After traveling 10 days by canoe, they reach the rich interval land of the upper St. John (Saint-David, Maine, and Saint-Basile)
June 10, 1966 New Brunswick’s Municipalities Act is passed
June 11, 1803 Martin Hunter is promoted to brigadier-general, commanding the British forces in North America. He later becomes commander of the New Brunswick Regiment and administrator of New Brunswick during the absence of Lieutenant-Governor Thomas Carleton.
June 11, 1834 Thomas Everitt establishes New Brunswick's first steam-powered carding mill near the ferry landing at St. Mary's (Fredericton).
June 11, 1843 Snowfall is reported along the Aroostook and Upper St. John River valley. Such "summer snows" are called "White Poultices" and are thought to promote the growth of newly-risen grain.
June 11, 1843 Father William Dollard, of Fredericton, is consecrated the first Bishop of New Brunswick. Born in Ballytarina (Ireland), Dollard came to the mission on the Miramichi in 1823 and was later appointed to Fredericton in 1836.
June 11, 1996 Radio station CFNB signs off the air in Fredericton, and is replaced by CIBX-FM. This well-known New Brunswick station began broadcasting in 1923, out of Stewart Neill’s home on Waterloo Row (Fredericton).
June 12, 1812 The United States Congress declares war on Great Britain,citing numerous grievances, including naval blockades and the seizure of American sailors at sea. Despite opposition from marine interests in New England, President Madison confirms a state of war.
June 12, 1879 The Honourable Charles D. Richards, Premier and Chief Justice of New Brunswick, is born in Southampton.
June 12, 1911 New Brunswick's first Women's Institute is organized at Andover by Alma Jane Porter - "For Home and Country".
June 13, 1693 The ship of the Sieur de Périgny sets sail from Fort St. Joseph (Nashwaak) for Quebec, with dispatches from Governor Joseph Robineau de Villebon.
June 13, 1885 The Marysville Cotton Mill commences operation. With full production achieved by November 1889, “Boss” Gibson’s mill becomes the largest industrial operation in central New Brunswick, employing 500 workers, and the largest mill structure in Canada.
June 13, 1915 The 26th Battalion departs Saint John for service in World War I. "The Fighting 26th" becomes the only infantry battalion to continuously represent New Brunswick on the battlefront in France and Belgium during World War I and receives 21 Battle Honours.
June 13, 1939 Their Majesties, King George VI and Queen Elizabeth commence their Royal Tour of New Brunswick, arriving in Newcastle on the Royal train. Travelling by car to Fredericton, they make an unscheduled stop for refreshments at Gilks House in Doaktown.
June 14, 1801 Benedict Arnold dies in London (England). Considered a "traitor" for joining the British after a heroic career as a Revolutionary leader, the Brigadier-General spent a number of unhappy years in New Brunswick attempting to repair his damaged reputation.
June 14, 1939 Premier A. A. Dysart receives a telegram from Their Majesties King George VI and Queen Elizabeth, expressing appreciation for their tour through the province of New Brunswick. The telegram has been dispatched from Sackville.
June 14, 1966 Upon the invitation of Canada, United States military commence a three-day testing over CFB Gagetown of Agent Orange, Agent Purple, Agent White, and several other toxic pollutants, while soldiers train on site.
June 15, 1774 Rev. Seth Noble becomes resident pastor on the river St. John, settling at Maugerville. Two years later he becomes one of the more active pro-American supporters of the American Revolution.
June 15, 1812 Major-General George S. Smythe becomes administrator of the government of New Brunswick. He is already Commander-in-Chief of British forces in the province, and is later appointed Lieutenant-Governor.
June 15, 1857 The Dramatic Lyceum opens in Saint John with a performance of "Bulwar's Money".
June 15, 1888 Fredericton's first railway bridge spanning the river St. John is completed, and the first train engine makes an inaugural crossing.
June 15, 1926 The Dexter P. Cooper Company receives a 3 year charter to build a series of tidal power dams in Passamaquoddy Bay. The proposal meets huge opposition within New Brunswick and the charter is not renewed in 1929.
June 15, 1939 Their Majesties King George VI and Queen Elizabeth say good-bye to the people of Canada via an Empire radio connection in Halifax (Nova Scotia). The Royal couple had spent two days touring the province of New Brunswick by motor car and Royal train.
June 15, 1988 Contralto, teacher and composer, Anna Malenfant dies in Montreal. Born in Shediac in 1902, Anna Malenfant was a leading lady in Canadian opera throughout the 1930’s and 40’s.
June 16, 1755 Colonel Robert Monckton captures Fort Beauséjour after a 14-day siege, forcing Commander de Vergor to retreat to Louisbourg. Monckton strengthens the fortress, renaming it Fort Cumberland, and establishes a base for military operations in the region.
June 16, 1783 The “June Fleet” of Loyalist evacuations depart New York, bound for the river St. John. They arrive in the harbour on July 5.
June 16, 1874 In Sackville, Charles C. Barnes patents the Vane Pump, designed to create a continuous suction of air from an inlet opening through to an outlet. This design is still used today.
June 17, 1605 The Sieur de Mons, Champlain and surviving members of the settlement on Saint Croix Island set sail in search of a new site for their colony. Travelling across the Baie Française (Bay of Fundy), they establish Port Royal (Nova Scotia).
June 17, 1755 Fort Gaspareau at Bay Verte on the Northumberland Strait is surrendered to Colonel Robert Monckton. Later the French fort at the mouth of the St. John River is abandoned.
June 17, 1790 William Davidson, shipbuilder, lumber baron, and founder of the first English-speaking settlement on the Miramichi, dies and is buried within sight of Beaubear's Island.
June 18, 1784 New Brunswick is established as a separate province by an Order-in-Council in Great Britain.
June 18, 1915 The "Father of modern Acadia", Marcel-François Richard, dies in Rogersville. As a parish priest, Father Richard was instrumental in the choice of National Acadian Day (August 15), the Acadian National Hymn ("Ave Maris Stella") and the Acadian flag.
June 18, 1920 The town of St. Leonard is incorporated.
June 18, 1984 Official celebrations begin to mark the bicentennial of the founding of New Brunswick as a province.
June 19, 1794 The first Royal Visit to New Brunswick occurs when H.R.H. Edward Augustus, The Duke of Kent (son of King George III), visits Saint John and stays in Chipman House. He also travels to Fredericton and is entertained by Governor Carleton in Mansion House.
June 19, 1872 The first group of Danish settlers, destined to establish the settlement of New Denmark, land on the Whitehead Flats, near the mouth of Salmon River.
June 19, 1959 The worst storm disaster ever to hit the Gulf of St. Lawrence occurs off the coast of Escuminac on Miramichi Bay. The unexpected storm strikes with sudden severity, creating 60 ft waves, and claiming the lives of 35 salmon fishermen from the region.
June 19, 1963 L'Université de Moncton is established by merging three exisiting university colleges: Sacré-Coeur in Bathurst, Saint-Louis (Edmundston), and Saint-Joseph (Moncton).
June 20, 1833 The "Maid of the Mist", a steamboat running regularly between Saint John and Windsor (Nova Scotia), makes its first voyage. By this route, travelers can expect to reach Halifax from Saint John in 20 hours.
June 20, 1874 Described as a "dirty pastime", baseball is introduced to New Brunswick at Saint John, by a clergyman from Guelph (Ontario).
June 20, 1877 Saint John's largest fire breaks out in Portland, and quickly engulfs most of the South End of the city. For 9 long hours the fire rages on - leaving 13,000 people homeless, destroying over 1,600 buildings, and consuming most of the commercial district.
June 20, 1883 The first sale of angling licenses for "surface fly fishing" in New Brunswick takes place by public auction.
June 20, 1889 Mary K. Tibbitts of Fredericton becomes the first woman to graduate from the University of New Brunswick, receiving her Bachelor of Arts with Honours in English, as well as the Governor General's Stanley Gold Medal for proficiency in English.
June 20, 1969 Final filming of "Don Messer's Jubilee" for CBC television. After ten years of unequalled success, the network cancels the show for a more contemporary "Singalong Jubilee".
June 21, 1967 Upon the invitation of Canada, United States military commence a four-day testing of Agent Orange and Agent White over CFB Gagetown, while soldiers train on site.
June 21, 1994 The Honourable Margaret Norrie McCain, of Florenceville, becomes the first female Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick.
June 22, 1822 The Provincial Marine Hospital opens in Saint John.
June 22, 1847 The “Miramichi Gleaner” reports 350 people quarantined on Middle Island near Chatham, suffering from typhus.
June 23, 1830 A "pest-house" is announced for the west end of Partridge Island in Saint John Harbour, after smallpox and typhus are reported on incoming immigrant ships. Vessels with any cases of disease must now hoist a yellow flag upon entering the harbour.
June 23, 1899 The town of Newcastle is incorporated.
June 23, 1929 The Wickham-Hampstead cable ferry commences operation.
June 24, 1604 The Sieur de Mons and Samuel de Champlain arrive at the mouth of the Wolastook - a large river on the north shore of Bakudabakek (Bay of Fundy). In honour of St. John the Baptist Day, they name the river Saint-Jean (St. John).
June 24, 1880 For the first time, a delegation of Acadians from the three Maritime Provinces attend a convention organized by the "Société St-Jean-Baptiste" in Quebec City. They decline a proposal to consolidate all of Canada's French-speaking peoples.
June 24, 1904 In Saint John, the Champlain tercentenary involves a large celebration, including the replica vessel "Acadie" landing at Market Slip and a huge public reception at Market Square. St. Croix Island also holds a tercentenary celebration.
June 24, 1939 The first transatlantic airmail flight departs from Shediac, landing at Foynes (Ireland).
June 25, 1761 Mi’kmaq of Shediac, Pokemouche and Miramichi agree to the 1760 Treaty of Peace and Friendship, as a renewal of the agreements of 1725 and 1749 – re-affirming Mi’kmaq hunting and fishing rights.
June 25, 1896 Father of Confederation, Sir Samuel Leonard Tilley, dies in Saint John. New Brunswick's most influential politician, Tilley crafted the province's entry into Confederation and played an important role in the development of Canada's political system.
June 26, 1604 The Sieur de Mons and Samuel de Champlain land on a small island in Peskutumaquadik (Passamaquoddy Bay), at the mouth of the Kunatauktuk Skoodik (St. Croix). They name the island Sainte-Croix, and establish the first French colony in North America.
June 26, 1861 Over 130 Scottish immigrants arrive at Partridge Island on board the "Irvine". They left the port of Greenock on May 9, destined for the new settlement of Glassville.
June 26, 1870 At the age of 24, Pierre-Amand Landry is first elected to the House of Assembly, representing Westmorland County. Born in Dorchester, Landry comes to symbolize the rebirth of the Acadian spirit in New Brunswick.
June 27, 1910 "The Standard" reports that Auguste Belliveau, who operates the Duke Hotel in Moncton, holds the Scott Act record for the city - having been arrested 13 times, within a few hours, for selling alcohol.
June 27, 1919 Esther I. Clark of Fredericton becomes the first female minister in New Brunswick, when she is hired as pastor of the Baptist Church in Grangeville.
June 27, 1947 Viscount Richard B. Bennett, former Prime Minister of Canada, dies in Mickleham (England). Born in Hopewell Hill, Bennett practiced law in Chatham before moving to Calgary (Alberta), and served as Prime Minister during the Depression years (1930 - 1935).
June 28, 1838 Coronation of Queen Victoria.
June 29, 1847 Dr. John Vondy of Chatham, dies from typhus in the quarantine station on Middle Island, while caring for the diseased victims of the immigrant ships “Looshtauk”, “Richard White”, and “Bolivar”. He is buried in a lead double coffin in nearby Chatham.
June 29, 1917 The Hon. Gilbert White Ganong, co-founder of Ganong Bros. Ltd. of St. Stephen - and "the sweetest man on the St. Croix", is appointed Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick.
June 30, 1864 Lord Monck requests that a Canadian delegation be received at the Maritime Union Conference taking place in Charlottetown - "to ascertain whether the proposed Union might be made to embrace the whole of the British North American Provinces."
June 30, 1866 New Brunswick's provincial elections are tallied in favour of Confederation. In the Legislature, the "Confederation Resolution" is passed by a vote of 30 - 8, requesting Lt-Gov. Gordon to appoint a delegation to arrange the union of British North America.
July 1, 0 CANADA DAY
July 1, 1817 Upon the death of Lieutenant-Governor General Thomas Carleton in England, Major-General George Stracey Smythe is appointed Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick, having previously been provincial administrator in Carleton’s absence.
July 1, 1867 The Honourable Peter Mitchell, of Newcastle - one of New Brunswick's Fathers of Confederation - becomes Canada's first Minister of Marine and Fisheries.
July 1, 1867 After overseeing the defence of New Brunswick against Fenian threats from Maine, Major General Sir Charles Hastings Doyle is appointed Lieutenant-Governor .
July 1, 1867 The British North America Act takes effect – uniting the Provinces of Canada, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick into one Dominion. In New Brunswick celebrations are “respectful and kindly… in a spirit eminently conciliatory to political opponents”.
July 1, 1873 Prince Edward Island enters Confederation.
July 1, 1920 Female teachers in New Brunswick are given equal pay with men. The Schools Act of 1903 had distinguished between male and female teachers regarding salary levels.
July 1, 1927 The Maritime Freight Rates Act (a Maritime version of the Crow’s Nest Pass Agreement) comes into effect - enabling Maritime manufacturers and producers to compete with markets in central Canada.
July 1, 1941 His Majesty King George VI presents new Colours to the Carleton and York Regiment, at Caterham, Surrey (England). His Majesty reminds the regiment that wherever they are called to fight, they will be "fighting on the very soil of New Brunswick".
July 1, 1945 The "Fédération des Caisses Populaires Acadiennes" is founded.
July 1, 1995 The Canadian Flag is flown for the first time on the top of Sugarloaf Mountain. The inaugural flag had previously flown atop the Peace Tower of Canada’s Parliament Buildings in Ottawa.
July 2, 1534 After exploring the coast of Kouchibouguac, Jacques Cartier discovers a “baye en triangle” (Miramichi Bay) and proceeds onward, passing the night in the lee of Miscou Island.
July 2, 1847 Dr. James Collins, who assisted hundreds of Irish immigrants ill with typhus on Partridge Island, dies of the dreaded ship-fever at the age of 23. Collins is buried in Saint John, in a lead coffin designed to prevent the spread of the disease.
July 2, 1853 Gold is discovered at Woodstock, on Bull’s Point.
July 3, 1837 In Bathurst, Richard McFarlane patents a Fishway for diverting fish around a milldam. Constructed with a series of step-like ponds connected by underwater passages, fish are able to swim through the passages to travel safely over the dam.
July 3, 1870 Richard Bedford ("R.B.") Bennett is born in Hopewell Hill. After practicing law at Chatham, Bennett moves to Calgary (Alberta) in 1897, and later becomes Prime Minister of Canada during the difficult Depression years of 1930 to 1935.
July 3, 1872 Hiram A. Cody, clergyman, poet and novelist, is born in Cody’s. Archdeacon Cody becomes a prolific writer of popular adventure novels, topping Canada’s Best Seller lists throughout the 1920’s and 1930’s.
July 3, 1911 Lightening strikes Christ Church Cathedral in Fredericton, destroying the spire and causing extensive damage. Taking over a year and $100,000 to rebuild, the restored building is rededicated on August 12, 1912.
July 4, 1632 Charles de Menou d’Aulnay, a lieutenant in the King’s navy, arrives in Acadia. De Menou later expands colonial activities in the region from trading in pelts, to include felling trees, seal-fishing, and agriculture.
July 4, 1755 A delegation of Acadians from Minas and Pisiquit meet with Governor Charles Lawrence and his Council in Halifax, offering to take an unqualified oath of allegiance to the King, but are refused.
July 4, 1776 The “Thirteen United States of America” issue their Declaration of Independence from Great Britain, and the American Revolution begins in earnest.
July 4, 1827 During a patriotic celebration of Independence Day, John Baker raises the American flag at Merumticook (Baker Brook), in the disputed area of the Madawaska. Baker, an American citizen, is later arrested by posse and tried for conspiracy and sedition.
July 4, 1852 The "Marco Polo" sets sail from Liverpool (England), reaching Melbourne (Australia) in a record 76 days. Upon returning to Liverpool in another 76 days, the pride of New Brunswick earns the title of "Fastest Ship in the World".
July 4, 1901 Official opening of the bridge in Hartland, spanning the river St. John. Originally built as a private toll crossing, it is rebuilt and covered in 1920-1921, becoming “The World’s Longest Covered Bridge”.
July 5, 1700 Governor Joseph Robineau de Villebon dies at Fort Saint-Jean (Saint John).
July 5, 1854 An epidemic of Asiatic cholera breaks out in Saint John, killing an estimated 1,000 people by summer’s end. The city’s Board of Health orders all taverns to not sell alcohol; daily death tolls are posted; and all homes in Portland are fumigated.
July 5, 1872 The Honourable George Edwin King, of Saint John, becomes Premier of New Brunswick.
July 7, 1534 Jacques Cartier sails into a large bay and opening which he later names "Baye de Chaleur" (Chaleur Bay). He encounters Mi'kmaq in canoes and, 3 days later, trades iron utensils for fur - marking the first recorded exchange with Europeans.
July 7, 1670 Governor Hector d'Andigné de Grandfontaine takes possession of Acadia from Thomas Temple in Boston, as agreed by the Treaty of Bréda, and establishes the capital of Acadia at Pentagouet (Castine, Maine) as a defense against English encroachment.
July 7, 1830 The Saint John County Militia, under Lieutenant-Colonel Simonds, announces the formation of a separate African Company of the First Battalion comprised of "all the people of Color".
July 7, 1911 Singer, Charlie Chamberlain is born in Bathurst. Joining Don Messer's band "The New Brunswick Lumberjacks" in the 1930's, Chamberlain later becomes a feature on CBC television's "Don Messer's Jubilee".
July 7, 1985 His Excellency Monsignor André-Marie Cimichella, O.S.M., auxiliary Bishop of Montreal, presides over the official opening of the Popes' Museum in Grande-Anse.
July 8, 1760 The Battle of the Restigouche, the last naval battle in North America, is fought between British and French forces for possession of Canada. The French flagship " Machault " is sunk in the Restigouche River, along with two other French ships.
July 8, 1761 Mi’kmaq of Chignecto agree to the 1760 Treaty of Peace and Friendship, as a renewal of the agreements of 1725 and 1749 – re-affirming Mi’kmaq hunting and fishing rights.
July 8, 1783 The “July Fleet” of Loyalist evacuations depart New York for the river St. John, arriving in St. John harbour on July 29.
July 8, 1867 " Le Moniteur Acadien ", the first French-language newspaper in the Maritimes, is published in Shediac. The weekly is published by Israël Landry, who remains editor for only one year.
July 9, 1784 Colonel Thomas Carleton is received at the Court of St. James and, by kissing the hand of King George III, formally accepts his appointment as the first Governor of the Province of New Brunswick.
July 9, 1973 The town of Riverview is incorporated.
July 10, 1746 An expedition of 700 Canadian soldiers and warriors from Quebec, led by Commandant Jean-Baptiste-Nicolas-Roch de Ramezay, arrive at Baie Verte with plans to link with French forces at Beaubassin (Amherst, Nova Scotia) and attack Annapolis Royal.
July 10, 1843 In Saint John, John E. Turnbull patents a manual clothes washer with mounted wringer rolls. Activated by a gearing system, the washer is operated manually for 10 minutes, to clean each load of laundry.
July 10, 1943 The Carleton & York Regiment lands in Italy as part of the 1st Canadian Infantry Division. Just after dawn they go ashore near Pachino. Pushing forward through choking dust and mine-filled roads, they distinguish themselves on the road to Regalbuto.
July 10, 1972 The Maritime provinces experience a total eclipse of the sun.
July 11, 1764 Royal instructions are given to Governor Wilmot, that Acadians be permitted to resettle in the colony (but not own land) - provided they take an oath of allegiance and only settle in small groups.
July 11, 1788 Benedict Arnold's store on Main Street in the Lower Cove district of Saint John is burned. Rumoured to have been over-insured, Arnold is accused by his ex-partner, Munson Hayt, of starting the fire.
July 11, 1910 Fire destroys downtown Campbellton, leaving only four homes standing.
July 11, 1912 Construction commences in Courtenay Bay on Saint John's massive new dry-dock. Premier J. K. Flemming and invited dignitaries watch as the Honourable W.T. White detonates TNT, marking the beginning of site preparations.
July 11, 1933 On Deer Island, Hartley A. Wentworth patents a children’s vitamin supplement that combines fish liver with chocolate, to make a healthy treat!
July 12, 1815 Ward Chipman is appointed agent for Great Britain in the boundary dispute with the United States over the Fundy Islands. Chipman succeeds in having the British claim to Grand Manan Island upheld.
July 12, 1847 Orangemen and Catholics clash on the Jacksontown Road, outside Woodstock, in one of N. B.'s worst ethnic confrontations.The conflict occurs when the Protestant Orange Order marches through a Catholic section of Woodstock to celebrate the Glorious 12th.
July 12, 1849 The annual July 12th Orange Order celebration in Saint John erupts into violence at York Point. More than 1,000 Protestants and Irish Catholics battle amid chaos as law and order breaks down and 12 deaths are reported.
July 12, 1877 Amand Landry, the first Acadian member of the Legislative Assembly, dies in Memramcook. First elected in 1846 as a representative for Westmorland County, Landry is believed to have been a descendant of Charles de Saint-Étienne de La Tour.
July 12, 1960 Louis J. Robichaud becomes the first Acadian to be elected premier of New Brunswick. Robichaud's Equal Opportunity Program introduces wide-reaching social reforms and transforms the province into Canada's only officially bilingual province.
July 13, 1784 The oldest gravestone in the Loyalist Burial Grounds of Saint John is enscripted with this date, "In memory of Conradt Hendricks aged 46 years".
July 13, 1837 A group of Scottish immigrants arrive in Fredericton, having sailed from Berwick-upon-Tweed (Scotland) with the intent of obtaining land grants at Stanley. They later establish Harvey Settlement.
July 13, 1914 The Honourable Henry Robert Emmerson dies in Dorchester after a long political career as Premier of New Brunswick and federal Minister of Railways and Canals in the Laurier Government.
July 13, 1933 General Italo Balbo's Italian armed air flotilla lands at Shediac Bay on route to Chicago's Century of Progress Exposition. The flying armada had crossed the Atlantic to celebrate Italy's tenth year of Fascist rule under Mussolini.
July 14, 1654 Charles de Saint-Étienne de La Tour surrenders his fort at the mouth of the river St. John to an English expedition led by Major Robert Sedgwick. La Tour is taken to England as a prisoner, where he is held for two years.
July 14, 1888 Long-distance telephone communication is established between Saint John and Fredericton.
July 14, 1951 Florine Bourque is crowned Queen of the Shediac Lobster Festival, by hockey great Maurice “Rocket” Richard. Presiding over the ceremony is King Neptune (Wendell Colpitts of Moncton) and his mermaid (Lillian Skanes of Belle Isle, Newfoundland).
July 15, 1788 The meeting location for New Brunswick’s Legislative Assembly moves from Saint John to Fredericton.
July 15, 1880 Convicts of the Saint John and Halifax penitentiaries are sent to the new Dominion Penitentiary in Dorchester.
July 15, 1951 Evelyn Henry of Keppoch (Prince Edward Island) becomes the first person to swim the Northumberland Strait, entering the water at Cape Tormentine and emerging at Borden (PEI) almost 9 hours later.
July 15, 1984 H.R.H. The Duke of Edinburgh visits C.F.B. Gagetown to present new colours to the Royal Canadian Regiment.
July 16, 1878 The Honourable Edward Barron Chandler, of Dorchester - one of the Fathers of Confederation - is appointed Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick.
July 17, 1837 Approval of the Civil Government bill marks the triumph of the House of Assembly, over the Legislative Council, for Responsible Government. Now the elected Assembly has control over all revenue from Crown Land, as well as certain duties and taxes.
July 17, 1843 Miramichi's "fighting election" occurs as clashes between the Joseph Cunard and Alexander Rankin factions break out around polling stations. Troops are sent to maintain order after one person dies and others claim their lives had been threatened.
July 17, 1935 Actor and movie star, Donald Sutherland, is born in Saint John, where he lives for 14 years. Sutherland is introduced to the theatre through puppet classes at the New Brunswick Museum.
July 17, 1979 Members of Tobique First Nation lead a 132 km march of women and childen from Oka (Quebec) to Ottawa (Ontario), in protest of Canada’s Indian Act that discriminates against Native women.
July 18, 1621 Françoise-Marie Jacquelin is born in Nogent-le-Rotrou (France), the daughter of a medical doctor. Later in life, she marries Charles de Saint-Étienne de La Tour, Governor of Acadia, and dies at Fort La Tour (Saint John) in 1645.
July 18, 1788 The first meeting of the Legislative Assembly in Fredericton takes place in the Governor's Mansion House - site of present-day Old Government House; but due to summer haying season, a number of Assembly members are unable to attend.
July 18, 1974 Premier Richard Hatfield announces the construction of the first nuclear power station in the Maritimes, at Point Lepreau on the Bay of Fundy.
July 19, 1776 At Watertown (Massachusetts), Maliseet and Mi’kmaq delegates sign a Treaty of Alliance and Friendship with the United States of America, agreeing to assist in their “War with the King of Britain”, in return for the “necessities and conveniences of life”.
July 19, 1844 New Brunswick's first lazaretto opens on Sheldrake Island in Miramichi Bay. With little support, the leper colony is a failure, and discontent becomes widespread. The facility is closed in 1849 and residents are moved to new accommodations at Tracadie.
July 20, 1881 The first National Acadian Convention is held in Memramcook. Over 5000 delegates meet to discuss the future survival of Acadian culture within Confederation, and "La Société Nationale l'Assomption" (La Société National de l'Acadie) is established.
July 20, 1974 Kings Landing Historical Settlement is officially opened. The $5-million development project involved the restoration of more than 30 century-old buildings, salvaged from the St. John River valley prior to the flooding of the Mactaquac headpond.
July 21, 1861 Disguised as a man, Sarah Emma Edmonds of Magaguadavic, serves on the Union side in the "Battle of Bull Run" during the American Civil War. Under the alias of Private Franklin Thompson, she becomes a soldier nurse and later a Union spy.
July 21, 1881 At the first National Acadian Convention taking place in Memramcook, the Feast of Assumption (August 15) is chosen as National Acadian Day - affirming the uniqueness of Acadian culture as descending not from Canada, but from France.
July 22, 1941 Ron Turcotte, jockey and horse racing triple-crown winner, is born in Drummond.
July 23, 1868 The Honourable Lemuel Allan Wilmot, of Fredericton, is appointed New Brunswick's first native-born Lieutenant-Governor.
July 23, 1914 New Brunswick's worst labour strife occurs during the Saint John Street Railwaymen's strike, when militant union and supporters clash in the streets against the Royal Canadian Dragoons.
July 23, 1924 The Petitcodiac Tidal Power Company attempts to convince federal authorities to allow the construction of a dam across the Petitcodiac River between Hopewell Cape and Fort Folly Point.
July 23, 1971 Antonine Maillet's "La Sagouine" (The Washerwoman), the internationally acclaimed "quintessential Acadian play in language, humour and content", is officially launched at the Université de Moncton, with Viola Léger.
July 24, 1803 Colonel James Peters, of Queens County, writes to Edward Winslow in Fredericton of his great success at growing hemp for rope along the rich intervale lands of the river St. John.
July 24, 1904 The first Canadian branch of the "Société Mutelle d'Assomption" is established in Bouctouche under the leadership of Dr. David-V. Landry. Founded in Waltham (Massachusetts) in 1903, the international headquarters is moved to Moncton in 1917.
July 24, 1911 The first conference of francophone educators takes place at Saint-Louis-de-Kent.
July 24, 1915 The oldest man in the Dominion of Canada is reported living at Red Rock, near St. George. At 114 years of age, James McKelvie claims that living near the Bay of Fundy has helped his longevity.
July 25, 1849 Opening of the lazaretto in Tracadie. The leper facility struggles until June 11, 1867, when the House of Assembly authorizes the Board of Health to place the facility under the care of the Religious Hospitalliers of Saint Joseph.
July 25, 1883 While carrying a load of timber from Quebec to London (England), New Brunswick's pride, the clipper ship "Marco Polo", runs aground in a storm and breaks up off the coast of Cavendish (Prince Edward Island).
July 25, 1952 It is announced that the largest military training base in Canada will be established in the area between Upper Gagetown and Westfield. Encompassing 1,106 sq km, an estimated 1,100 families will be moved in a mass migration.
July 26, 1785 Sunbury County is re-established as a county within the new province of New Brunswick, with Burton as the Shire Town.
July 26, 1834 Andrew Flemming receives the first mining license in New Brunswick, to mine coal at Long Creek Point near Minto.
July 27, 1606 Marc Lescarbot, North America's first historian, arrives at Port Royal (Nova Scotia). The following spring, he visits the river St. John and Saint Croix island, returning to France in 1607, where he publishes his vast "History of New France".
July 27, 1721 Following the signing of the Treaty of Utrecht between France and England, eastern First Nations (including Mi’kmaq, Maliseet and Passamaquoddy) protest: “My land is not thine either by right or conquest, or by grant or by purchase”.
July 27, 1812 At Saint John, the owners of the sloop "General Smyth" apply for a letter of marque to cruise against the American enemy. While no letters are issued, the vessel engages in privateering anyway during the War of 1812.
July 27, 1926 Construction begins on Moncton's first synagogue. Tiferes Isreal Synagogue later opens its doors on Steadman Street.
July 27, 1949 Brothers Rufus and George Hamilton are hanged in Fredericton for the murder of taxi driver Norman Burgoyne. Despite the early hour of 2 a.m., more than 1,000 people turn out to witness the hanging.
July 28, 1755 Governor Charles Lawrence and his Council agree unanimously to deport the Acadians from Nova Scotia.
July 28, 1827 The steamer "Saint John" begins service from Saint John to Eastport (Maine).
July 28, 1829 Starvation conditions are reported in Madawaska due to crop failures over the past two years.
July 29, 1880 “The Bay Pilot” reports that gold has been discovered on Dew’s farm near Woodstock. Samuel Baker, an old and experienced miner, has conducted several soil washings and found “a number of rich and valuable nuggets”.
July 29, 1897 New York journalist Edwin Tappan Adney publishes in "Harper's Young People" magazine the first detailed step-by-step description, with drawings, of the construction of an Aboriginal birch bark canoe. He has observed Maliseet canoe builders at Woodstock.
July 29, 1950 Fundy National Park is officially opened to the public. Selected as the location for New Brunswick's first national park in 1948, this initiative is intended to stimulate the region’s economy and preserve the area's natural beauty.
July 30, 1852 New Brunswick’s first railway engine is started up in St. Andrews, along the first section of the St. Andrews and Quebec Railway.
July 30, 1860 The European and North American Railway is completed between Shediac and Saint John.
July 31, 1667 The Treaty of Bréda returns Acadia to France. A formal hand-over, however, does not take place until 1670 when Governor Hector d'Andigné de Grandfontaine takes possession from the English colonial Governor, Sir Thomas Temple.
August 1, 1754 Governor Lawrence advises the British Lords of Trade that, since the Acadians possess the best and largest tracts of land in Nova Scotia, "it would be much better, if they refuse the oaths, that they were away" - revealing his favour towards expulsion.
August 1, 1819 Lumberman, railway entrepreneur and industrialist, Alexander “Boss” Gibson is born near St. Andrews.
August 1, 1834 Slavery is officially abolished within the British Empire, although by 1822 it had been reported that there were no slaves living in New Brunswick.
August 1, 1860 The last spike in the European & North American Railway is driven at Salmon River bridge (near Sussex), and the line connecting Shediac to Saint John is declared open.
August 1, 1878 Gypsies are reported camped outside St. Stephen. Residents throughout Charlotte County flock to their tent, paying 25 cents to have their fortunes told.
August 1, 1892 Policeman Joseph Steadman is shot dead in an alley in Moncton. Two men are later arrested, and Robert "Buck" Olsen is hanged for the crime at Dorchester.
August 1, 1927 In response to the Maritime Rights Movement and the subsequent development of a National Transportation Policy, the federal government takes over operation of the Port of Saint John.
August 2, 1689 During King William’s War, John Gyles is captured by Maliseet warriors at Pemaquid (Maine) and taken to Medokteck (Meductic). He later records his impressions as one of the earliest English residents on the river St. John.
August 2, 1788 The Legislative Assembly passes a bill to build the first lighthouse on Partridge Island.
August 2, 1924 "L’Évangeline" newspaper reports that approximately 254 cases of illegal alcohol have been seized off the coast of Miscou island.
August 3, 1791 New Brunswick's first lighthouse becomes operational on Partridge Island in St. John harbour.
August 3, 1847 New Brunswick’s first training school for teachers, The Fredericton Model Training School, opens, with J. Marshall d’Avray as principal.
August 3, 1860 H.R.H. Albert Edward, Prince of Wales (son of Queen Victoria) visits Saint John and stays at the “Duke of Kent Lodge” (Chipman House). The next day he departs for Fredericton on board the steamer “Forest Queen”, accompanied by 117 guests.
August 4, 1783 The “August Fleet” of Loyalist evacuations depart New York, bound for the river St. John.
August 4, 1829 “The Gleaner” reports on the results of a Coroner’s inquest at Sheffield into the death of Thomas Coburn, who was struck by lightning while standing under a large elm tree. The verdict: “Died by the visitation of Divine Providence”.
August 4, 1914 Canada automatically enters World War I as Great Britain declares war on Germany. Canada’s Parliament later authorizes raising expeditionary forces, on August 19.
August 4, 1935 A major forest fire commences in Belledune, destroying a large portion of Gloucester County.
August 5, 1903 The town of St. Andrews is incorporated.
August 6, 1497 Having sailed throughout the waters of eastern North America, Giovanni Caboto (John Cabot) returns to Bristol (England).
August 6, 1806 The first issue of Fredericton’s first newspaper, the “Fredericton Telegraph”, is published by Michael Ryan. The weekly’s motto reads “We strive to paint the manners and the mind”.
August 6, 1860 In Fredericton, a levee is held at Old Government House for H.R.H. Albert Edward, Prince of Wales, followed by a state dinner and Royal Ball at “Province Hall” (Legislative Assembly) – “on a scale of magnificence never before attempted in this Province”.
August 6, 1879 His Excellency the Governor-General Marquis of Lorne and HRH Princess Louise commence their Royal Tour of New Brunswick, stopping by train in Moncton, Sussex and Hampton. In Saint John, “Reed’s Castle” on Mount Pleasant Ave. becomes their temporary home.
August 6, 1974 Premier Richard Hatfield opens the Bricklin automobile plant in Saint John. Marking a symbolic beginning of production, one car comes off the assembly line: “We’re not just building a car, we’re building a better New Brunswick”, states Hatfield.
August 6, 2002 Moncton becomes the first bilingual city in Canada, adopting legislation that all municipal literature designed for the public will be issued in both official languages.
August 7, 1780 King George III approves plans for the establishment of a new province in the region between the St. Croix and Penobscot rivers (Maine), to be called "New Ireland".
August 7, 1959 CBC television commences national broadcasting of "Don Messer's Jubilee". Produced in Halifax and featuring New Brunswick born Don Messer and Charlie Chamberlain, the show becomes one of the most successful programs CBC television has ever made.
August 7, 1975 Prime Minister Pierre Trudeau announces that Canada will try to extend its economic coastal zone to 200 miles off the East Coast.
August 8, 1918 Herman James Good of South Bathurst earns the Victoria Cross at Hangard Wood (France) during the Battle of Amiens. With his Company under heavy fire from machine guns, Good charges an enemy nest alone, then does the same again, under point-blank fire.
August 9, 1656 After having been held prisoner in England for nearly two years, Charles de Saint-Étienne de La Tour is allowed to meet with Oliver Cromwell and regains his rights in Acadia as a Baronet of Nova Scotia.
August 9, 1842 The Webster-Ashburton Treaty defines the Maine-New Brunswick border, and awards the Madawaska territory south of the river St. John to Maine.
August 9, 1879 In Fredericton, His Excellency the General-General Marquis of Lorne and H.R.H. Princess Louise are entertained at Old Government House by Lieutenant-Governor Edward B. Chandler.
August 10, 1674 Dutch sea-captain Jurriaen Aernoutsz begins his assault on Acadia by capturing Fort Pentagouet (Castine, Maine) and Governor Jacques de Chambly. Aernoutsz later takes Fort Jemseg, claiming the region for Holland, and renaming it “New Holland”.
August 10, 1840 The first balloon ascension in Canada is undertaken by "celebrated Aeronaut" Monsieur L.A. Lauriat, from Barrack Square in Saint John.
August 10, 1925 Premier Peter J. Veniot and the Liberal party are voted out of office largely over their attempt to build the Grand Falls Hydro Dam through public ownership.
August 10, 1937 The tenth National Acadian Congress commences in Memramcook.
August 11, 1877 First issue of Moncton’s “Daily Times " newspaper ( a forerunner to the “Times-Transcript”).
August 12, 1842 The first vessel in the world to be driven by a compound steam engine is launched at Nashwaaksis (near Fredericton). Navigated by its inventor, Benjamin F. Tibbitts, the “Reindeer” draws shouts of applause, as a new marine idea is born.
August 12, 1904 Maine daredevil Van Morrell crosses the Grand Falls on a tight rope.
August 13, 1846 The Roman Catholic Diocese of New Brunswick is incorporated.
August 13, 1900 In St. George, Joseph S. Clark patents the Key-opening Can, a container process still used today for such foods as canned luncheon meats, corned beef and ham.
August 13, 1913 Alexander “Boss” Gibson, New Brunswick’s legendary lumber and cotton king, dies in Marysville.
August 13, 1983 The Black-capped Chickadee (parus atricapillus) is proclaimed the provincial bird for New Brunswick by an Order-in-Council.
August 14, 1838 A new city water works, including fire hydrants, becomes operational in Saint John.
August 14, 1869 Federal cabinet minister Samuel Leonard Tilley telegraphs Prime Minister Macdonald from Charlottetown, announcing he has proposed "better terms" for Prince Edward Island's entry into Confederation.
August 14, 1952 In Sussex, the Kings County Fair is postponed indefinitely as 60 cases of polio are reported in southeastern New Brunswick.
August 14, 1987 The Honourable Gilbert Finn, of Moncton, is appointed Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick.
August 15, 1695 During King William’s War, Fort William Henry (Pemaquid, Maine), on the disputed New England-Acadia boundary, falls to the French commander Pierre Le Moyne d’Iberville. In retaliation, Captain Benjamin Church raids Chignectou.
August 15, 1749 Maliseet Chiefs from the Wolastoq (river St. John) travel to Chebucto (Halifax, Nova Scotia), and sign a renewal of the 1725 Boston Treaty of Peace and Friendship.
August 15, 1884 The Acadian National flag and National anthem (“Ave Maris Stella”) are adopted at the second National Acadian Convention held in Miscouche (Prince Edward Island).
August 15, 1905 The fifth National Acadian Congress commences in Caraquet.
August 15, 1919 HRH Edward, Prince of Wales (son of George V) arrives in Saint John for a 1-day visit. Royal Colours are presented to New Brunswick’s “Fighting” 26th Battalion, and 5 New Brunswick war heroes, as well as Boy Scout Percy Johnston, receive medals of honour.
August 15, 1982 August 15 is declared Acadian Day in New Brunswick by Royal Proclamation.
August 16, 1784 Colonel Thomas Carleton is appointed the first Governor of New Brunswick.
August 16, 1934 New Brunswick celebrates its 150th anniversary as a separate province, and Prime Minister R. B. Bennett officially re-opens Canada's first public museum, the New Brunswick Museum, in its new building on Douglas Street in Saint John.
August 17, 1842 A “Ladies’ Bazar and Art Exhibition” is opened in the Mechanics Institute at Saint John by Lieutenant-Governor Sir William and Lady Colebrooke.
August 17, 1862 New Brunswick born lawyer, author, naturalist and government agent, Moses Henry Perley, dies on board the vessel “Desperate” off the Labrador Coast, and is buried at Forteau (Labrador).
August 17, 1905 Farmers in Manitoba and the territories (Saskatchewan and Alberta) request 30,000 men from eastern Canada to assist in harvesting this year’s wheat crop.
August 17, 1920 In Saint John, Robert T. Mawhinney patents the Dump Box for trucks.
August 17, 1970 Author, folklorist, and leading cultural historian, Dr. Louise Manny, dies in Newcastle. In 1967, Dr. Manny was named one of Canada’s “Women of the Century” for her work in preserving the history and folklore of Eastern New Brunswick.
August 18, 1784 The first Royal Instructions are issued to Governor Thomas Carleton by King George III - setting out the form and order of government within the Province of New Brunswick.
August 18, 1827 Sir Howard Douglas meets 93-year-old Maliseet Elder, Chief Sachem Pierre Tomah, at Meductic. A veteran of the Battle of the Plains of Abraham (1759), Tomah was an influential leader during the period of the American Revolution.
August 18, 1897 In Fredericton, a two-day public auction commences at Old Government House to dispose of the entire contents of the building. Amidst “Large Crowds, Lively Interest” and “Sharp Competition”, 697 items are sold, totaling a return of less than $2,000.
August 18, 1906 Violinist Arthur Leblanc is born in St-Anselme. The son of a violin maker and teacher, he is recognized for his extraordinary musical ability by age five. By 1939, in New York City his music is described as having “extreme beauty and purity”.
August 18, 1932 Scottish aviator, James A. Mollison, flying from Portmarnock (Ireland) in a de Havilland Puss Moth, lands at Pennfield – successfully completing the first westbound solo flight across the Atlantic.
August 18, 1952 The expropriation of 1,106 sq. km of land between Upper Gagetown and Westfield commences, as National Defence representative Frank Millar conducts Community Hall meetings in Petersville, New Jerusalem, Geary and Gagetown.
August 19, 1905 The Canadian Pacific Railway’s annual western “Harvest Excursion” train departs from Moncton. Upwards of 3,000 young Maritimers are on their way to the northwest (Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta) to aid in harvesting grain crops.
August 19, 1908 The sixth National Acadian Congress commences in St.-Basile.
August 19, 1942 For twelve raging hours, under intense Nazi fire, Canadian troops from the 2nd Division fight the blazing and bloody Battle of Dieppe (France).
August 20, 1857 The first train on the European and North American Railway departs Shediac for Moncton, with H.A. Whitney as the Conductor.
August 20, 1869 Klondike Kate (Katherine Ryan) is born in Johnville.Travelling to Vancouver,Ryan joins the Gold Rush in 1898-becoming one of the first women to walk into the Yukon over the rugged Stikine Trail,and the first female member of the North West Mounted Police.
August 21, 1857 A tsunami occurs in the Gulf of St. Lawrence, and along the New Brunswick coastline many lives and boats are lost at sea. At Shippagan thirty-two fishermen perish when tidal waves reach a reported height of over 15 meters.
August 22, 1860 At the age of 34, James Rogers is installed as Chatham's first Bishop, after the diocese of New Brunswick is divided into two seats - Chatham and Saint John.
August 23, 1840 Charles F. Hartt, geologist and paleontologist, is born in Fredericton. A founding member of the Natural History Society of New Brunswick, during the 1870's Hartt leads several geological survey expeditions into the Amazonas of Brazil.
August 23, 1860 An auction is held in Saint John to dispose of furniture purchased for the Royal Visit of H.R.H. Albert Edward, Prince of Wales. A large quantity is sold to Richard Simonds to furnish his home in Rothesay.
August 23, 1871 "The Paris Crew" of Saint John, named for their 1867 World Exposition rowing victory in Paris, defeat England's famed Tyne Crew on the Kennebecasis River.
August 23, 1922 New Brunswick Films Limited is incorporated at Saint John with Premier Walter Foster and Lieutenant-Governor William Pugsley as stockholders. The province's first feature film is " Blue Water ", by Ernest Shipman.
August 23, 1977 Irving Woodlands reach a milestone as K.C. Irving plants New Brunswick's one hundred millionth tree, in the Black Brook district near St.-Leonard.
August 24, 1807 Exports from British North America to the United States are suspended due to strained relations between Britain and the U.S. However, four Maritime ports (Halifax, Shelbourne, Saint John, and St. Andrews) guarantee American shipping safe passage.
August 24, 1873 One of the worst storms to hit the Gulf of St. Lawrence region smashes Prince Edward Island, New Brunswick, and Nova Scotia. "The August Gale" is estimated to have killed nearly 1,000 men at sea.
August 24, 1934 Eaton's in Moncton advertise men's wool suits at $10 and silver plated cutlery at $1.98 for 18 pieces.
August 25, 1758 Colonel Robert Monckton is sent to the mouth of the river St. John on orders to destroy Acadian settlements along the river.
August 25, 1855 James Murray, of Newcastle, is awarded a contract to build the lighthouse on Miscou Island – currently one of the oldest existing lighthouses along the Gulf of St. Lawrence.
August 25, 1885 The first issue of "Le Courrier des Provinces Maritimes" newspaper is published in Bathurst.
August 26, 1841 At the shipyard of Owens and Duncan, in Portland (Saint John), a fire breaks out on the vessel “Jane Duncan”. The shipyard, 60 homes, and the Methodist Chapel are destroyed.
August 27, 1670 Fort Jemseg is returned to France.
August 27, 2004 Educator and politician, Adélard Savoie, dies in Grand-Barachois. The first mayor of Dieppe, Savoie was also part of the Acadian delegation from New Brunswick who met with French president Charles de Gaulle in Paris in 1968.
August 28, 1762 James, son of Hugh and Elizabeth Quinton, is born at Fort Frederick - the first child of English speaking parents whose birth is recorded in Saint John.
August 28, 1769 Captain William Owen and a group of friends meet at a coffee house in Warrington (England) to consider a plan to settle the "Great Outer Island of Passamaquoddy" (Campobello).
August 28, 1824 Major-General Sir Howard Douglas is appointed Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick. Having previously been President of the Royal Military College in Woolwich (England), Douglas is recognized as a distinguished writer on military and political subjects.
August 29, 1758 General James Wolfe departs Louisbourg to destroy Acadian fishing camps and settlements along the Northumberland Strait, from Miramichi north into the Gaspé region.
August 29, 1851 Roman Catholic missionary and New Brunswick’s first resident Bishop, William Dollard, dies in Fredericton and is buried under the altar of St. Dunstan’s Church.
August 31, 1988 Moncton's " Le Matin " daily newspaper declares bankruptcy, and " L'Acadie NOUVELLE " , in Caraquet, becomes the only French-language daily in the province.
September 1, 1707 Colonel John March, of the Massachusetts Bay militia, fails to dislodge Governor Daniel d’Auger de Subercase at Port Royal (Nova Scotia), and returns to Boston (Massachusetts) in defeat.
September 1, 1864 The Charlottetown Conference opens on Prince Edward Island. September 2, John A. Macdonald and George-Étienne Cartier argue for a union of British North America, with Alexander Galt outlining financial benefits and George Brown constitutional aspects.
September 1, 1964 St. Thomas University relocates from Chatham to the University of New Brunswick campus in Fredericton.
September 1, 1969 New Brunswick enacts the Official Languages Act, making it the first officially bilingual province in Canada.
September 2, 1752 The old Julian (Roman) calendar is changed to the new Gregorian calendar throughout the British Empire. September 2 becomes September 14.
September 2, 1755 At Grand Pré (Nova Scotia), Colonel John Winslow issues a citation ordering all Acadian men and boys to assemble in the church on September 5, without arms…“that we may impart what we are ordered to communicate to them.”
September 2, 1918 Cyrus Peck,of Hopewell Hill, earns the Victoria Cross at Cagnicourt (France). With his battalion held under intense enemy fire, Peck goes forward on a personal reconnaissance mission and obtains information enabling the tanks and infantry to push forward.
September 3, 1755 The Battle of the Petitcodiac results in the defeat of a British force from Fort Cumberland (Aulac). Charles Deschamps de Boishébert attacks and routs a British raiding party under Major Frye, near present day Hillsborough.
September 3, 1783 Great Britain and the United States sign the Treaty of Paris, formally ending the American Revolution. A boundary is established at the St. Croix River and the United States gain access to British inshore fishing waters.
September 3, 1823 Francis Peabody Sharp, “The Father of Fruit Culture in New Brunswick”, is born in Upper Woodstock. Establishing the Woodstock Nurseries in 1850, Sharpe creates several new fruit varieties, including “Sharpe’s New Brunswick” and “Crimson Beauty” apples.
September 3, 1894 Labour Day is officially celebrated in Canada.
September 3, 1958 The first Miramichi Folksong Festival takes place in Newcastle. Founded by Louise Manny, the Festival continues to be the longest running festival of its kind in Canada.
September 4, 1749 The Chebuctou (Halifax, Nova Scotia) renewal of the Boston Treaty of Peace and Friendship is ratified by Maliseet Chiefs and Captains on the Wolastoq (river St. John) – re-affirming Maliseet hunting and fishing rights.
September 5, 1755 In the church at Grand Pré (Nova Scotia), Colonel John Winslow reads the Proclamation for the Deportation of the Acadians to the assembled men and boys from surrounding villages. Everyone present is immediately taken prisoner and held to await transport.
September 5, 1804 Amos Botsford is born in Saint John. Described as a person of “discretion and intelligence”, in 1852 Lieutenant-Governor Sir Edmund Head appoints Botsford to represent New Brunswick in Reciprocity Treaty discussions taking place in Washington (D.C.).
September 5, 1870 In Dalhousie, Robert C. Harris patents the “Railway Screw Snow Excavator”. Although many claim the invention of the snow blower, Harris’ design is a pioneer to modern snow blowers.
September 5, 1918 The first police union in Canada is organized in Saint John. The Saint John Federal Police Protective Association is chartered on September 10. Two days later, the Police Commission dismisses a number of the officers, but they are later reinstated.
September 5, 1952 To help prevent the spread of polio, the re-opening of public schools in New Brunswick is postponed for 2 weeks. Parents are urged to keep their children out of crowded areas.
September 5, 1992 Denis Lord, of Campbellton, climbs Sugarloaf Mountain in a wheelchair. This feat, in support of purchasing a transport vehicle for disabled persons in the region, takes him only 67 minutes – he descends in 45 minutes.
September 6, 1851 New Brunswick's first postage stamps are available for purchase at all post offices within the province. The Pence Issue includes denominations of three pence, six pence, and one shilling.
September 6, 1905 W. Austin Squires, author and naturalist, is born in Fredericton.
September 7, 1821 At The Bend (Moncton), Rev. Joseph Crandall of Salisbury dedicates “The Free Meeting House” as a House of Worship. Restored as a Centennial project for the City of Moncton in 1990, The Free Meeting House is one of Moncton’s oldest existing buildings.
September 7, 1864 At the Charlottetown Conference on Prince Edward Island, the Maritime Provinces discuss the various aspects of Maritime Union, with New Brunswick's Samuel Leonard Tilley in favour of a Maritime union prior to a confederation of British North America.
September 7, 1869 HRH Prince Arthur (son of Queen Victoria) begins his Royal Tour of New Brunswick, arriving at Shediac on board the "HMS Dart”. Traveling by train, he stops at Petitcodiac and Sussex en route to Saint John, where he attends a Paris Crew sculling match.
September 8, 1760 The Marquis de Vaudreuil, Governor-General of New France, surrenders Montreal to the British. Canada, Acadia, and French western posts as far south as Illinois, are now part of British North America.
September 8, 1869 In honor of the visit of HRH Prince Arthur, a levee and Firemen’s Torchlight Procession is held at Old Government House. Departing the next day by horse and carriage for Woodstock, the Prince travels over-land by relays of horse to Rivière du Loup.
September 8, 1896 Henry Ketchum dies in Amherst (Nova Scotia),failing to complete his life's work of a ship railway across the Isthmus of Chignecto. A brilliant and energetic engineer,Ketchum received the first diploma in civil engineering from UNB in Fredericton, in 1862.
September 9, 1831 Major-General Sir Archibald Campbell, having previously been a Commander in the British Army stationed in India, is appointed Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick.
September 9, 1887 The first issue of the "Kings County Record" newspaper is published in Sussex.
September 9, 1892 Bishop John Medley, New Brunswick’s first Anglican Bishop and founder of Christ Church Cathedral, dies in Fredericton. He is buried on the Cathedral grounds, just below the East window.
September 9, 1953 At Sydney (Nova Scotia), Yvon Durelle, the “Fighting Fisherman” from Baie Ste.-Anne, wins the Canadian light-heavyweight boxing title in a 12 round decision over Gordon Wallace of Brantford (Ontario).
September 9, 1988 Lilianne Dubocquet dies in Campbellton. A member of the Resistance Movement in Paris (France) during WWII, she later receives accolades from the United States and Britain for her work in sheltering escapees during the Nazi occupation.
September 10, 1621 King James I grants Acadia to the Scottish poet and nobleman Sir William Alexander. The royal charter, written in Latin, names the territory “Nova Scotia” (New Scotland). The river St. Croix becomes the “Tweed”, and the St. John becomes the “Clyde”.
September 10, 1784 The Privy Council of Great Britain approves an official Great Seal for the province of New Brunswick - illustrating a ship sailing up a river, with lofty pines on each side, and bearing the motto “Spem Reduxit” (“Hope Restored”).
September 10, 1864 Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, and Canadian delegates meet at Province House in Halifax to discuss further details of union. By September 12, an agreement is reached to hold a conference in Quebec to consider the union of British North America.
September 10, 1939 Canada declares war on Germany.
September 11, 1884 The telephone company in Saint John reports a total of 291 telephones in service.
September 12, 1900 The Galveston Hurricane, originating off the coast of Texas, reaches New Brunswick. Ten fishing schooners out of Gloucester County are lost in the Gulf of St. Lawrence.
September 12, 1932 Allardville is established near Bathurst, under the leadership of Father Jean-Joseph-Auguste Allard.
September 12, 1949 "L'Évangéline" evolves from a weekly to a daily newspaper.
September 12, 2000 14 Burnt Church and Miramichi Bay Mi’kmaq lobster fishers are arrested and their boats seized for fishing out of season, despite a Supreme Court of Canada ruling giving Mi’kmaq unrestricted fishing rights.
September 13, 1772 Joseph Mathurin Bourg, the first Acadian priest to take holy orders, is ordained in Montreal. One year later, Father Bourg is appointed missionary to Acadia, and establishes his headquarters at Carleton on Chaleur Bay.
September 13, 1984 His Holiness Pope John Paul II visits Moncton as part of his Canadian tour and celebrates mass on the Magnetic Hill site.
September 14, 1864 New Brunswick and Canadian delegates from the Charlottetown Conference arrive in Saint John, from Halifax (Nova Scotia). A banquet is held at Stubb’s Hotel, where the Canadians are toasted with the singing of “For They are Jolly Good Fellows”.
September 14, 1867 Auguste Renaud, of Bouctouche, becomes the first Acadian elected to the Canadian House of Parliament.
September 14, 1896 The American feminist, Julia Ward Howe, speaks on the North American Suffrage Movement before a large audience in Saint John, at a national convention organized by the Women’s Enfranchisement Association of New Brunswick.
September 14, 2004 In Nackawic, the St.-Anne Nackawic pulp mill unexpectedly closes its doors, throwing 400 people out of work, affecting hundreds of others and sending shockwaves throughout New Brunswick’s forest-based economy.
September 15, 1750 Charles Lawrence returns to Beaubassin (Amherst, Nova Scotia), to establish Fort Lawrence on the eastern side of the Missaguash River; while the Chevalier de La Corne and Abbé Le Loutre begin to establish Fort Beauséjour (Aulac) on the western bank.
September 15, 1826 The cornerstone is laid for the Old Arts Building of King’s College (University of New Brunswick), in Fredericton, by Lieutenant-Governor Sir Howard Douglas. Designed by John Elliot Woolford, the new building is opened on January 1, 1829.
September 15, 1849 The "Teal" sails from Saint John, bound for California and the Gold Rush.
September 15, 1864 Canadian delegates from the Charlottetown Conference, George-Étienne Cartier, George Brown and Alexander Galt, travel to Fredericton by steamer from Saint John, where they are hosted by Lieutenant-Governor Sir Arthur Hamilton Gordon.
September 15, 1977 Radio station CJVA in Caraquet commences transmitting.
September 16, 1839 Described as "the poor man's friend", George Fenety starts the first penny newspaper in the Maritimes, in Saint John. "The Commercial News and General Advertiser" is later called the "Morning News".
September 16, 1858 Andrew Bonar Law, Great Britain’s only Prime Minister from outside the British Isles, is born in the Manse at Kingston (Rexton) – Bonar Law Historic Site.
September 16, 1915 The 26th Battalion ("New Brunswick's Fighting 26th") departs England and lands at Boulogne (France). Later, they participate in capturing Courcelette and taking more than 1,000 prisoners.
September 16, 2001 An estimated 50 non-Native fishing boats terrorize Native fishers and cut Native lobster pots, after Burnt Church Natives are issued a food fishery license providing unrestricted fishing rights within a specified fishing zone.
September 17, 1758 British troops, under the command of James Murray, destroy the first stone church built in New Brunswick, located at Burnt Church.
September 17, 1902 Long-distance automobile travel is inaugurated in New Brunswick as J.C. Miller of Millerton, near Newcastle, drives his Oldsmobile to Fredericton in 11 hours.
September 17, 1999 The Supreme Court of Canada upholds the Treaties of 1760 and 1761 - recognizing Mi’kmaq, Maliseet and Passamaquoddy rights to a moderate livelihood through hunting, fishing and gathering.
September 18, 1632 Scottish raiders, led by Andrew Forrester of Charlesfort, New Scotland (Port Royal, Nova Scotia), attack Fort Sainte-Marie in St. John harbour. Governor Charles de Saint-Étienne de La Tour later retaliates by robbing English traders at Machias (Maine).
September 18, 1758 Colonel Robert Monckton arrives at Partridge Island, with over 2000 troops, on orders to destroy Acadian settlements along the river St. John. Fort Frederick is established at the mouth of the river, near the location of an abandoned French fort.
September 18, 1845 Gas lighting is first introduced in Saint John.
September 18, 1959 The Beaverbrook Art Gallery is officially opened on Queen Street in Fredericton, by Dr. William Constable, former Curator of the Boston Art Gallery, and descendant of the English painter John Constable.
September 18, 1968 The village of Chipman is incorporated.
September 19, 1825 The Great Miramichi Fire begins - the largest fire ever recorded in the Maritimes. One fifth of New Brunswick, or about 9,656 square kms, burns - from the Northwest Miramichi to the outskirts of Fredericton.
September 20, 1684 Louis d’Amour, the Sieur de Chauffours, is granted a seigneury at Richibucto. D’Amour later moves to the river St. John, joining his brothers Mathieu (Sieur de Freneuse), René (Sieur de Clignancourt), and Bernard (Sieur de Plenne).
September 20, 1896 New Brunswick’s only sugar refinery, The Moncton Sugar Refining Company, is destroyed by fire. Built in 1882 and acquired in 1894 by the Acadia Sugar Refining Company of Halifax (Nova Scotia), the Moncton plant is not rebuilt.
September 20, 1966 New Brunswick signs an agreement with the federal government, providing an expenditure of $114 million to fight rural poverty over the next 10 years.
September 21, 1699 Joseph Aubery is ordained a priest in Quebec, by Bishop Saint-Vallier. In 1701 Father Aubery establishes a mission at Médoctec (Meductic), where he stays for eight years.
September 21, 1893 The Honourable John Boyd, of Saint John, is appointed Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick.
September 21, 1893 Pierre-Amand Landry, of Dorchester, becomes the first Acadian to be appointed to the Supreme Court of New Brunswick. Landry quickly gains respect for his attention to detail, and concern in treating both linguistic communities fairly.
September 22, 1866 Samuel Leonard Tilley and Nova Scotia’s Charles Tupper initiate a pledge that if Prince Edward Island would look favourably upon Confederation, Canada would support a plan to provide the Island with $800,000 to buy out land proprietors.
September 23, 1897 Hollywood star Walter Pidgeon is born in Saint John, at 23 Cedar Street. Pidgeon grows up working in his father's clothing store at the corner of Main and Bridge Streets. At age 13, he gives his debut performance at the Imperial Theatre.
September 23, 1952 New Brunswick schools begin their scholastic year after a 3 week delay due to a record number of polio cases. In total, 252 people (mostly children) have contracted the disease so far this year - and 10 children have died.
September 24, 1765 The Township of Hopewell is established.
September 24, 1918 The "Patriotic Potato Scandal" inquiry opens in the Saint John County Court House. After almost three years of inquiry, a tale unfolds of patronage, perjury, cover-ups, incompetence, and many other forms of political corruption.
September 24, 1984 Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II and Prince Phillip begin their Canadian tour in Moncton. On September 25 they visit Fredericton to participate in a public ceremony marking the 200th anniversary of the establishment of the province.
September 25, 1933 Senator Pascal Poirier dies in Ottawa (Ontario). Born in Shediac, Poirier was the first Acadian appointed to Canada’s Senate, and devoted much of his life to helping preserve the history and language of Acadia.
September 25, 1975 The New Brunswick Government agrees to put Bricklin Canada Ltd. into receivership, after the company loses an estimated $23 million in its attempt to produce a revolutionary new sports car.
September 26, 1709 Abbé Jean-Louis Le Loutre is born in Morlaix (France). Ordained in Paris (France), Father Le Loutre first arrives in Acadia in 1737, later becoming one of the most popular missionaries known in Acadia.
September 27, 1783 The “Fall Fleet” of Loyalist evacuations out of New York arrive in St. John harbour - too late in the season to reach their designated land grants, or to prepare for the approaching winter.
September 27, 1982 The last issue of "L'Évangeline" is published. The Maritime's most influential French-language newspaper first appeared in 1887 and became a daily publication on September 12, 1949.
September 28, 1918 Milton F. Gregg, of Mountain Dale, earns the Victoria Cross near Cambrai (France). Although wounded twice, he leads his men against enemy trenches, personally capturing 12 machine-gun nests. In spite of his wounds he leads a third attack on October 1.
September 28, 1943 Escaped POW and German U-boat ace, Wolfgang Heyda, is captured at Maisonnette Point while attempting a rendez-vous with German submarine U-536 in Chaleur Bay.
September 29, 1834 The Honourable Ward Chipman Jr., of Saint John, is appointed Chief Justice of New Brunswick.
September 29, 1868 Sister St. Jean-de-Goto (Amanda Viger) and five other members of the nursing order “The Religious Hospitalliers of Saint Joseph”, arrive at Tracadie from Montreal (Quebec) – called to New Brunswick to care for leprosy patients.
September 30, 1697 King William's War ends with the Treaty of Ryswick, which returns all of Acadia to France. New Englanders are displeased, but by 1702 the Spanish War erupts in Europe and Massachusetts again launches an attempt to reconquer Acadia.
September 30, 1764 “The Halifax Gazette” reports that at about 12 o’clock noon a very severe shock of an earthquake was felt at the mouth of the river St. John.
September 30, 1767 British naval officer, Captain William Owen, is granted the Great Outer Island of Passamaquoddy. In honour of his friend, Lord William Campbell, the Governor of Nova Scotia, Owen names his island “Campo Bello”.
September 30, 1842 The Roman Catholic Diocese of New Brunswick is established by Pope Gregory XVI, and in 1843, Father William Dollard becomes the first Bishop of New Brunswick.
September 30, 1946 The last passenger steamboat to ply the river St. John, the “D.J. Purdy”, makes her final trip from Fredericton. She ends her days beached as a dance hall at Gondola Point and burns in 1948.
October 1, 0 TREATY DAY - a renewal of the 1752 Treaty of Peace and Friendship.
October 1, 1978 The villages of Saint-Léolin, Verret and Sheila are incorporated.
October 2, 1821 George Ludlow Wetmore and George Frederick Street exchange shots in an early morning duel near New Maryland. Wetmore dies from a bullet to his head and the "hue and cry" is raised against Street who escapes to Maine.Street is later acquitted of murder.
October 2, 1901 Maliseet leader Gabriel Acquin dies in St. Mary's (Fredericton) at the age of 90. Founder of the St. Mary's First Nation, in 1883 he had travelled to London (England) as part of the Canadian contingent to the Great International Fisheries Exhibition.
October 2, 1918 The town of Hartland is incorporated.
October 2, 1958 Muriel Corkey Ryan, of Saint John, becomes the first woman to be named to Queen’s Council in New Brunswick.
October 4, 1783 Over 600 Penobscot Loyalists land at St. Andrews, from Castine (Maine), to establish a settlement. The town of St. Andrews is almost instantly created and laid out in classic New England fashion.
October 4, 1783 Governor Parr, in Halifax, writes to London authorities that 20,000 Loyalists have now arrived in Nova Scotia. In December, he estimates the number at 30,000, with almost half going to the Saint John River valley area.
October 4, 1871 In Saint John, Andrew J. Stewart patents a cold-water soap, which features the ingredients of borax, ammonia, naphtha, and turpentine. Considered unsafe by today’s standards, this invention is a pioneer in modern cold-water detergents.
October 4, 1905 The town of Dalhousie is incorporated.
October 4, 1922 The Canadian National Railway is further consolidated into one integrated system under an appointed board of directors.
October 4, 1991 In Burton, Dr. John Bowen, of the RCMP forensic lab in Ottawa, introduces DNA evidence in the trial of murderer Allan Legere. This is the first time in Canada that DNA evidence is presented in a court of law.
October 5, 1869 The “Saxby Gale”, predicted one year earlier by amateur astronomer British Navy Lieutenant Stephen M. Saxby, devastates the Maritimes, particularly the Bay of Fundy region.
October 5, 1910 The first trainload of Bathurst iron ore arrives at Newcastle's Drummond docks, to be loaded onto a Norwegian steamer bound for New York. Gloucester County iron ore is now considered New Brunswick's most valuable mineral.
October 6, 1710 British officer and French Huguenot, Paul Mascarene assumes his first guard at Port Royal. With insufficient troops and supplies, Mascarene still manages to maintain the British administration of Nova Scotia at Annapolis Royal until 1749.
October 6, 1784 Dr. Samuel Moore, of Saint John, reports the first murder. A black man, John Mosley, was killed with a pitchfork during a domestic dispute. His wife Nancy is found guilty and sentenced to branding in open court with the letter “M” on her thumbs.
October 6, 1910 St. Thomas College, under the supervision of the Basilian Fathers, opens in Chatham. Taking the place of the older St. Michael's College. Students as young as 12 are admitted.
October 6, 1922 Bennie Swim, who had been twice reprieved, is hanged twice at Woodstock for the murder of Olivia and Harvey Trenholme of Baie Verte. The first execution attempt is bungled when one of the hangmen is under the influence of alcohol.
October 7, 1763 Following the Treaty of Paris, King George III issues a Royal Proclamation recognizing Native land rights.
October 7, 1825 End of the Great Miramichi Fire - 15,000 persons are left homeless throughout central New Brunswick. Newcastle, Douglastown, Moorfield, Bartibog, Nappan, Black River, Oromocto River and surrounding areas are almost totally destroyed.
October 7, 1854 Sir John Henry Thomas Manners-Sutton, a former British Member of Parliament for Cambridge (England), is appointed Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick. During his tenure Responsible Government is fully established within New Brunswick.
October 7, 1957 Thanksgiving is celebrated as an annual holiday. Since 1879 Thanksgiving has been an annual harvest feast, but has often been celebrated at different times of the year. In 1957 the second Monday of October is chosen as the annual date.
October 8, 1799 Joseph Crandall becomes the first ordained Baptist minister in New Brunswick after being confirmed Pastor by Edward Manning in Sackville. He establishes a church at Salisbury the following year and remains part of the congregation until his death in 1858.
October 8, 1971 The Honourable Hédard Joseph Robichaud, of Caraquet, becomes New Brunswick’s first Acadian Lieutenant-Governor.
October 9, 1765 Governor Montague Wilmot reports that 20 German families from Philadelphia have arrived to settle in the "Hopewell Township".
October 9, 1846 Amand Landry, of Memramcook, becomes the first Acadian elected to the New Brunswick House of Assembly, representing Westmorland County.
October 10, 1749 The Chevalier de La Corne leaves France for Acadia and arrives at Chipoudy (Shepody). Passing the winter at Chédaïque (Shediac), La Corne fortifies the Chignecto region west of the Missaguash River.
October 10, 1864 College Saint Joseph opens in Memramcook. Through the efforts of Father Camille Lefebvre, the first French-language, degree-granting institution in the Maritimes is established and flourishes.
October 10, 1864 The Quebec Conference is convened to work out the final aspects of a full-fledged union of British North America. The Maritime pro-union delegates are led by New Brunswick's Samuel Leonard Tilley and Nova Scotia's Charles Tupper.
October 11, 1785 The first issue of the "Royal Gazette and New Brunswick Advertiser " newspaper (forerunner to “The Royal Gazette”) appears in Saint John.
October 11, 1918 In New Brunswick, the province's first Minister of Health, Dr. William Roberts, outlaws the gathering of more than 5 people and closes schools and churches for 5 weeks to combat the spread of Spanish influenza.
October 11, 1927 A twenty-foot Celtic Cross is unveiled on Partridge Island as a memorial to the Irish immigrants of 1847 and Dr. James P. Collins.
October 12, 1676 Pierre de Joybert de Soulanges is granted land at Nachouach (Nashwaak), on both sides of the river St. John. The Seigneury of Soulanges (Fredericton) totals nearly 23,000 acres. In 1677 Joybert is named administrator of Acadia.
October 12, 1879 A major fire, “The Great Conflagration”, destroys most of the business district in Shediac, causing an estimated $90,000 worth of damage.
October 12, 1882 On a Maritime speaking tour, Britain’s famous literary celebrity, Oscar Wilde, is arrested in Moncton for breach of contract.
October 12, 1891 Fire destroys a large part of Pointe-du-Chêne.
October 12, 1937 The Honourable C.D. Howe, Minister of Transport for Canada, announces at the annual dinner of the Maritime Board of Trade that Moncton will be the Maritime terminal for Trans Canada Airlines (Air Canada).
October 12, 1982 The Progressive Conservatives, led by Premier Richard Hatfield, are re-elected in New Brunswick.
October 13, 1987 The Liberal Party, led by Frank McKenna, takes all 58 seats in the provincial election.
October 13, 1997 Ten years to the day he was first elected, Premier Frank McKenna resigns, stating he has fulfilled his mandate. Veteran member of the Legislative Assembly, the Honourable Raymond Frenette, steps in as interim leader.
October 14, 1865 The first issue of the "St. Croix Courier" newspaper appears in St. Stephen.
October 14, 1969 The Hon. Jean Chretien, federal Minister for Indian Affairs and Northern Development, and Premier Louis J. Robichaud announce the creation of Kouchibouguac National Park. As part of the “social animation” program, 245 families will be moved.
October 15, 1785 Governor Thomas Carleton issues a writ for New Brunswick’s first provincial election. In Saint John, the election ends with a riot outside the Mallard House polling station, and troops are called in from nearby Fort Howe to restore order.
October 15, 1845 The cornerstone is laid for Christ Church Cathedral in Fredericton.
October 15, 1907 In Saint John, Thomas McAvity Stewart patents the Vortex-Flushing Toilet Bowl, a feature that can be found today in most all makes of toilets.
October 15, 1917 A daily railway car ferry service begins between Cape Tormentine and Borden (Prince Edward Island), with the sailing of the steamer “Prince Edward Island”.
October 15, 1935 National Hockey League player, Willie O'Ree is born in Fredericton. Considered the "Jackie Robinson of Hockey", in 1958 O'Ree becomes the first Black man to play in the National Hockey League.
October 16, 1696 Count Frontenac, Governor of New France, grants the Seigneury of Cocagne to Georges Renaud, Sieur du Plessis.
October 16, 1902 Renowned contralto, teacher and composer, Anna Malenfant is born in Shediac. Considered the prettiest voice in Canada between 1940 and 1960, Malenfant “sings as naturally as others breathe.”
October 16, 1980 The Furbish Lousewort, a perennial herb only found growing along the banks of the upper St. John, becomes the first plant to be protected under New Brunswick’s Endangered Species Act.
October 17, 1783 The final fleet of Loyalist evacuations out of New York arrive in St. John harbour.
October 17, 1878 The Honourable Samuel Leonard Tilley becomes Canada’s Minister of Finance, with responsibility for implementing a National Policy to encourage Canadian manufacturing.
October 18, 1748 The Treaty of Aix-la-Chapelle is signed between England and France, ending King George’s War. England returns Île Royale (Cape Breton Island) and Fortress Louisbourg to France, in exchange for Madras (India).
October 18, 1867 Sir John A. Macdonald appoints the most senior military officer within New Brunswick, Colonel Francis Pym Harding, as provisional Lieutenant-Governor, to assist with administrative and military transitions during Confederation.
October 18, 1918 Edmundston reports over 1,600 cases of Spanish influenza.
October 18, 1936 "l'Association Acadienne d'Éducation" is formed.
October 19, 1774 William Franklin Odell, second provincial secretary for New Brunswick, is born in Burlington (New Jersey).
October 20, 1672 Pierre de Joybert de Soulanges receives a seigneurial grant along the east bank at the mouth of the river St. John, extending 4 leagues upriver, and is appointed Commander of Fort Gemisick (Jemseg).
October 20, 1784 Daniel Stickles petitions for the rights to operate a ferry across the river St. John, at Fredericton.
October 20, 1967 The village of Nigadoo is incorporated.
October 21, 1863 J. Clarence Webster, physician, author and philanthropist, is born in Shediac.
October 21, 1925 Louis J. Robichaud is born in Saint Antoine. In 1960, at the age of 35, Robichaud becomes the first Acadian to be elected Premier of New Brunswick - and leads the province into a new era of massive social reform.
October 22, 1918 Northumberland County reports 1,118 cases of Spanish influenza. “The Chatham Gazette” reports that in Newcastle “there is hardly a house where there is not one or more cases” of the epidemic.
October 23, 1918 The Spanish flu peaks, as 55,000 people die across Canada, and one of the worst epidemics in world history destroys the jubilation of World War I ending.
October 24, 1676 The Seigneury of Beaubassin is granted to Michel Leneuf de La Vallière. This region later becomes one of the strategic points in the struggle between France and England for possession of Acadia.
October 24, 1903 The Grand Trunk Railway is chartered to build a new transcontinental line between Moncton and Prince Rupert (British Columbia).
October 24, 1963 The first issue of the "The Bugle" newspaper appears in Woodstock
October 25, 1798 An International Boundary Commission, set up under the terms of Jay's Treaty, establishes the St. Croix River as the southwestern border between New Brunswick and the State of Maine.
October 25, 1972 The village of Balmoral is incorporated.
October 26, 1831 Partridges are selling for 50¢ a dozen in Saint John.
October 26, 1861 Sir Arthur Hamilton Gordon, former private secretary to the Prime Minister of England, is appointed Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick. During his administration the question of Confederation with the provinces of Canada is settled.
October 26, 1922 New Brunswick's Game Regulations, regarding the operation of a “jack light”, gain a first conviction. W.F. Blake of Woodstock is fined $100 for hunting deer with a light.
October 26, 1970 Richard Hatfield defeats Liberal Premier Louis Robichaud in the Provincial election.
October 26, 1984 Premier Richard Hatfield is charged with possession of marijuana after the substance is found in an outside pocket of his suitcase at Fredericton Airport. After a sensational trial in 1985, Premier Hatfield is acquitted.
October 27, 1987 Frank McKenna becomes Premier of New Brunswick, having led his liberal party to a full-sweep victory in the October 13 election.
October 28, 1799 François LeBreton dies in Tracadie. One of the original founders of the community, LeBreton came to Tracadie from the Gaspé in the 1780’s.
October 28, 1854 The old "Family Compact" government is finally voted down in New Brunswick and Charles Fisher forms the first government under a party system. Known as the "Smashers", Fisher's party introduces sweeping reforms into New Brunswick's political system.
October 29, 1879 A violent gale and high tides ravage the coast of northeastern New Brunswick. At Shippagan the breakwater and lighthouse are completely wash away.
October 29, 1929 The Wall Street stock market crash marks the official beginning of the Great Depression; however, the Maritime economy has already suffered through almost ten years of depressed conditions and has little further ground to lose.
October 30, 1786 The meeting of Governor Thomas Carleton's Council is held for the first time in Fredericton, but the House of Assembly does not meet in the new capital until July 18, 1788.
October 30, 1827 An earthquake occurs in the Miramichi region.
October 31, 1765 The township of Hillsborough is established.
October 31, 1765 William Davidson and John Cort, founders of the first British settlement on the Miramichi, receive a 100,000 acre township grant that includes large sections of both sides of the Miramichi River.
October 31, 1765 Monckton Township is granted to Alexander McNutt and Associates - land speculators from Pennsylvania, New York, and New England, who are particularly eager in obtaining mineral rights to copper and iron ore.
October 31, 1863 In Bathurst, a fisherman is reported to have caught a cod fish measuring 6 feet in length and weighing 58 llbs (29 kilograms).
October 31, 1885 Sir Samuel Leonard Tilley, one of New Brunswick’s Fathers of Confederation, is appointed Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick for a second time.
October 31, 1964 Despite predicted problems relating to location and high tides, Louis J. Robichaud breaks ground for a chemical fertilizer plant at Dorchester Cape. Three years and over 10 million dollars later, the chemical park declares bankruptcy.
November 1, 0 ALL SAINTS DAY
November 1, 1765 The Stamp Act becomes law in British North America. All official documents, newspapers and pamphlets are to be taxed by purchase of stamps issued and sold by the British government. The act results in price increases and later the American Revolution.
November 1, 1847 The poem "Evangeline, A Tale of Acadia" is first published in the United States. Henry Wadsworth Longfellow's epic tale of the expulsion of the Acadians is later released in more than 300 different versions.
November 1, 1860 While British currency is still accepted, decimal coinage becomes the official tender in New Brunswick – and new coins are not minted until 1862.
November 1, 1945 The Honourable David Laurence MacLaren, of Saint John, is appointed Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick.
November 2, 1783 Loyalist settlers at St. Anne's Point (Fredericton) experience their first snowfall and freezing temperatures as they camp in small tents without floors and no provisions for the upcoming winter.
November 2, 1936 The Canadian Broadcasting Corporation is created.
November 2, 1939 The first Trans Canada Airlines (Air Canada) flight arrives at the Maritime terminal in Moncton.
November 3, 1850 Fredericton is illuminated by gas lights for the first time.
November 3, 1886 A major fire occurs in Dalhousie.
November 3, 1923 Unable to walk because of a childhood disability, Joseph Pierre Lacasse, of Campbellton, and his faithful horse “Kitty” climb Sugarloaf Mountain. The difficult journey, with no marked trail, takes them an hour and 30 minutes.
November 3, 1991 Allan Legere is convicted of four counts of first-degree murder in the torture and beating deaths of three women and a priest, during a reign of terror on the Miramichi, after his 1989 jail break.
November 4, 1758 A British raiding party, under Colonel Robert Monckton, destroys the Acadian village of Grimross (Gagetown), burning 50 buildings and all of the winter’s supply of food.
November 4, 1871 Marie-Louise Allard Blanchard is born in Pictou (Nova Scotia). Living most of her life in Pokemouche and Caraquet, she establishes a commercial craft operation in Caraquet using traditional weaving and rug hooking techniques.
November 4, 1990 After a 46-year absence, Professor Northrop Frye, one of the 20th century’s foremost literary critics, returns to his boyhood home of Moncton, where he is made an honorary citizen.
November 5, 1969 The village of Cap-Pelé is incorporated.
November 5, 1976 After resisting expropriation in Fontaine (Kouchibouguac National Park), Jackie Vautour and his family are evicted from their home and watch as their property is bulldozed to the ground.
November 6, 1691 Commander Joseph Robineau de Villebon begins construction of the first home at Fort Saint-Joseph (Fredericton).
November 6, 1845 In Fredericton, Benjamin F. Tibbitts patents a practical Marine Compound Steam Engine. Considered one of the greatest mechanical achievements of the 19th century, this invention increases the speed of steamships worldwide.
November 6, 1867 The first Parliament of Canada's new Confederation opens in Ottawa.
November 6, 1879 Maritimers celebrate Thanksgiving for the first time, as a celebration for “the blessings of the harvest”.
November 6, 1917 The Honourable William Pugsley, of Saint John, is appointed Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick.
November 7, 1885 William Van Horne drives the last spike in the Canadian Pacific Railway at Craigellachie (British Columbia). Seven years later, Van Horne falls in love with Minister’s Island (near St. Andrews), and purchases it for his summer retreat.
November 8, 1603 Pierre Dugua de Mons receives a royal charter from Henry IV of France that calls for the colonization of Acadia. As Governor of Acadia, de Mons is later granted a monopoly on the fur trade for ten years.
November 8, 1750 Upon hearing of British attempts to construct a fort at Beaubassin (Amherst, Nova Scotia), the Marquis de la Jonquière, Governor General of Canada, orders Captain Des Chaillons at Chignecto to build a fortress at Pointe à Beauséjour.
November 8, 1875 The Intercolonial Railway line between Moncton and Campbellton is officially opened.
November 8, 1904 The town of St. George is incorporated.
November 8, 1928 Police arrest five men digging a tunnel under the Chatham to Newcastle highway. The leader of the digging caper, George Bulger, is outraged at the forced work stoppage, claiming to be within striking distance of Captain Kidd's treasure.
November 9, 1849 The first telegraph message is transmitted between Saint John and Halifax.
November 9, 1865 At South Bay (Saint John), the first sod is turned on New Brunswick’s Western Extension into Maine of the European and North American Railway. Financial problems have delayed construction.
November 9, 1930 Acadian scholar and genealogist Placide Gaudet dies in Shediac after a life devoted to scholarship in the field of Acadian studies.
November 10, 1847 Panic breaks out in Chatham and throughout the Miramichi as Joseph Cunard declares bankruptcy, throwing hundreds of men out of work.
November 10, 1966 As a result of sweeping municipal reforms initiated by Premier Louis J. Robichaud, 67 New Brunswick villages are incorporated.
November 11, 0 REMEMBRANCE DAY
November 11, 1850 The most disastrous fire in the history of Fredericton occurs in the downtown core, destroying 18 acres and more than 300 buildings. Almost 2,000 people are left homeless.
November 11, 1918 At 5 o’clock in the morning in Paris (France), an Armistice Agreement is signed between British Allies and Germany – officially ending “The Great War” (World War I) at the eleventh hour (11:00 AM).
November 11, 1972 The founding convention of the Parti Acadien takes place in Bathurst and, philosophy professor, Euclide Chiasson is elected party leader.
November 12, 1776 Jonathan Eddy's attack on Fort Cumberland (Aulac), in support of the American Revolution, ends in failure. The Eddy Rebellion is a serious challenge to British authority as many New England settlers in the region are sympathetic to the Republican cause.
November 12, 1970 Richard B. Hatfield is sworn in as New Brunswick’s Premier. Heralded as Canada’s first “modern” premier, Hatfield represents a new breed of politician – one who brings a new idealism to New Brunswick politics.
November 13, 1808 George Duncan Ludlow, the first Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of New Brunswick, dies in Spring Hill (Fredericton).
November 13, 1911 The Dominion Atlantic Railway (DAR) is formally leased to Canadian Pacific Railway (CPR) for 999 years - effective January 1, 1912.
November 14, 1835 The first separate lunatic asylum in Canada opens in Saint John under the direction of Dr. George Peters, who led the move to segregate the insane from criminals. A new treatment centre, the Provincial Lunatic Asylum, opens in 1848.
November 14, 1895 Saint John becomes Canada's Winter Port as the Beaver Line Steamship Company announces a fortnight service between Saint John and Liverpool.
November 15, 1841 William Valentine advertises his new Daguerreotype Miniature Portraits process in the " St. John Morning News", the first known reference to photographic services in the Maritimes.
November 15, 1854 Opening of the Séminaire Saint-Thomas in Memramcook.
November 15, 1873 Sir Samuel Leonard Tilley, having resigned his position as Member of Parliament in the administration of Sir John A. Macdonald, is appointed Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick
November 15, 1902 The Albert County Teacher's Union is established.
November 15, 1929 New Brunswick’s first Santa Claus, Charles A. Sampson dies in Fredericton at the age of 90. Born in St. Andrews, Sampson opens a candy store in Fredericton in 1867, and soon advertises that he is an agent for Santa Claus.
November 17, 1934 The Honourable Richard Burpee Hanson, of Fredericton, receives the appointment of federal Minister of Trade and Commerce in the administration of Prime Minister R.B. Bennett.
November 18, 1883 At midnight, New Brunswick residents join with other Maritime regions in the Atlantic Zone and set their clocks to conform with the first installation of Standard Time across North America.
November 18, 1983 The $7 million Humpty Dumpty potato chip plant opens in Hartland, replacing the old plant destroyed by fire on October 6, 1981.
November 18, 2004 The Rochdale Gold Potato is launched by Co-op Atlantic. More than 15 years in development by the Potato Research Center in Fredericton, the first growers of the new variety are Bob Watson, Bernard Ouellette and Gerard Pickard.
November 19, 1850 Placide Gaudet, genealogist and scholar of Acadian history, is born in Cap-Pelé.
November 19, 1887 The Caraquet Gulf Shore Railway line between Bathurst and Tracadie is opened - and the “Caraquet Flyer” makes its inaugural run soon after.
November 19, 1979 Antonine Maillet becomes the first Canadian to receive France’s prestigious Prix Goncourt literary prize for her novel Pélagie-la-Charette, a story of the Acadian Deportation and return.
November 20, 1755 Captain Obijah Willard marches north from the captured Fort Beauséjour with a sizeable force of troops and burns almost 70 Acadian buildings around (present-day) Sackville and another 100 at (present-day) Westcock.
November 20, 1858 Charles Allison, founder of the Mount Allison Wesleyan Academy, dies in Sackville.
November 21, 1887 The “Caraquet Flyer” railway service makes its inaugural run from Bathurst to Tracadie.
November 21, 1955 The “Union Coopérative Acadienne” is established in South Nelson, with Elphège Levasseur, of Madawaska, elected the first president.
November 22, 1752 Chief Sachem Jean Baptiste Cope and Mi’kmaq delegates renew the 1725 and 1749 Treaties of Peace and Friendship, at Halifax (Nova Scotia) - re-affirming Mi’kmaq hunting and fishing rights.
November 22, 1784 At Parrtown (Saint John), Governor Thomas Carleton, having just arrived the previous day, takes his oath of office and oversees the swearing-in of the province’s first Executive Council.
November 23, 1817 Army Officer, engineer, mathematician, and colonial politician, James Glenie dies in poverty in London (England). Glenie was one of the first to challenge the Loyalist establishment in New Brunswick.
November 23, 1887 Valentin Landry publishes “L’Évangéline” in Digby (Nova Scotia). With the motto, “Religion, Langue, Patrie”, it quickly becomes the most important French-language newspaper, moving its headquarters to Moncton in 1905.
November 23, 1970 The seiner “Lady Dorianne”, out of Shippagan, is lost in the Gulf of St. Lawrence, with a crew of seven men.
November 24, 1817 An International Commission confirms the Fundy Isles of Passamaquoddy Bay ( with the exception of Dudley, Frederick, and Moose), are New Brunswick territory, as agreed upon by the Treaty of Ghent between Britain and the United States.
November 25, 1783 British forces leave New York, completing the evacuation of nearly 30,000 Loyalist refugees to present-day New Brunswick and Nova Scotia.
November 25, 1784 The first judges of the Supreme Court of New Brunswick - Chief Justice George Duncan Ludlow, James Putnam, Isaac Allen and Joshua Upham - take their oath of office in Parrtown (Saint John).
November 25, 1864 Opposed to the gathering forces of Confederation, Albert James Smith publishes his "Letter to the Electors of the County of Westmorland", and delays Canadian union for almost two years.
November 26, 1934 Cigarettes are selling for 1 cent a piece and a round-trip steamship excursion from Saint John to the British Isles is only $110.
November 27, 1609 After spending a year in Acadia, Marc Lescarbot, North America’s first historian, publishes his three volume “History of New France” in Paris (France).
November 27, 1908 Alexander "Boss" Gibson is forced to sell his cotton mill in Marysville (Fredericton). Montreal’s Canadian Coloured Cotton Company assumes full control, and one of New Brunswick's last 19th-century industrial tycoons dies 5 years later.
November 27, 1913 The first issue of "Le Madawaska" newspaper is published in Edmundston.
November 28, 1831 Seal Island Lighthouse on Nova Scotia's south coast becomes operational with Richard Hichens as the island's first light keeper. New Brunswick and Nova Scotia jointly built the lighthouse, after Hichens and his wife had established a lifesaving station.
November 29, 1892 Martin Condon dies in Sussex. Although a pauper, who had been "sold" several times at public auction, Mr. Condon had saved $400 to pay for his own tombstone.
November 29, 1910 The New Brunswick Historical Society allows for the acceptance of female members.
November 29, 1923 Premier Peter J. Veniot, in a speech publicizing New Brunswick's attempts to complete the Grand Falls Hydro Power Project, promises to turn around the province's fortunes with this massive project - the "Niagara of New Brunswick".
November 29, 1944 German submarine U-1230, on war patrol in the North Atlantic, lands two German agents at Hancock Point (Maine). Four days later she sinks the Canadian merchant steamer “Cornwallis” in the Gulf of Maine, on route for Saint John.
November 30, 0 SAINT ANDREW'S DAY
November 30, 1782 A preliminary agreement to end the American Revolution is signed at Paris. Britain recognizes the independence of its thirteen colonies, and in New York preparations are underway to evacuate Loyalist refugees to British North America.
November 30, 1812 Alexander Rankin and James Gilmour arrive on the Miramichi aboard the brig “Mary”, from Glasgow (Scotland). At Gretna Green (Douglastown), they establish the firm of Gilmour, Rankin & Co., becoming one of the largest timber-exporters in the region.
November 30, 1911 Moncton's second street railway service is established and lasts until 1931, when competition from motor bus services puts the tram cars out of business.
December 1, 1922 At midnight, all motor vehicles move to the right side of the road in New Brunswick. Signs in large red letters reading TURN TO THE RIGHT are posted along New Brunswick's streets and highways.
December 1, 1936 The Purple Violet (Viola cucullata) is proclaimed the provincial flower for New Brunswick, by an Order-in-Council.
December 3, 1653 Nicolas Denys is granted rights to the coast and islands of the St. Lawrence, from Cape Canso (Nova Scotia) to Cap des Rosiers (Gaspé). Soon after, he establishes a fishing and trading company to operate within the limits of his grant.
December 3, 1944 While steaming to Saint John from Barbados, the Canadian merchant ship "Cornwallis" is sunk off Maine by the German submarine U-1230. Out of a crew of 48, only five survive.
December 3, 1954 Moncton television station CKCW-TV commences broadcasting. In 1972 the station is purchased by the CHUM Group of Toronto and becomes part of the Atlantic Television System (ATV).
December 4, 1839 Ezekiel Stone Wiggins, the great Canadian seer, astrologist and weather prophet, is born at Grand Lake. In 1883, Wiggins creates widespread fear in North America when he predicts a great storm to strike the planet.
December 4, 1866 The British Government meets with delegates from the Maritimes and Canadas to pledge support for Confederation. In addition to financing the Intercolonial Railway, the “London Resolutions” pledge a 10 year allowance to New Brunswick for lost revenues.
December 4, 1944 Radio station CJEM goes on the air in Edmundston.
December 5, 1812 The British brig "HMS Plumper", out of Halifax with at least £70,000 in gold and silver destined to pay troops in Saint John, strikes rocks near Point Lepreau in the Bay of Fundy and goes down. The whereabouts of the treasure is never revealed.
December 5, 1842 Joshua Alexandre of Shippagan becomes the first french-speaking representative in New Brunswick’s House of Assembly.
December 6, 1920 Moncton breaks out in partisan violence at a speaking engagement by Irish nationalist Lindsay Crawford.
December 7, 1840 The Saint John Mechanics Institute building, first home of Abraham Gesner’s Museum of Natural History (New Brunswick Museum), is opened on Carleton Street.
December 7, 1926 Edward R. McDonald of Shediac patents the Crossword Game known today as Scrabble.
December 7, 1957 In Dalhousie, Joseph Pierre Richard of River Charlo, becomes the last man to be hanged in the province of New Brunswick, for the murder of fourteen-year-old Katherine De La Perelle.
December 8, 1828 Old Government House, designed by Barrack-Master John E. Woolford, is completed in Fredericton, under the supervision of Jedediah Slason and master mason Matthew Lamont.
December 9, 1896 The Honourable Abner Reid McClelan, of Riverside, is appointed Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick.
December 10, 1657 Emmanuel LeBorgne is appointed Governor and Lieutenant-General of the disputed lands of Acadia.
December 10, 1853 The University of New Brunswick introduces the first university course in engineering in Canada. Lieutenant-Governor Sir Edmund Head and Professor William Brydone Jack were instrumental in establishing the new applied science of engineering.
December 10, 1868 "The Times" newspaper is first published in Moncton.
December 10, 1912 Father Édouard-Alfred LeBlanc is appointed Bishop of Saint John, becoming the first Acadian Bishop in the Martimes.
December 10, 1939 The 1st Canadian Infantry Division, made up of 7,400 hastily trained soldiers, sails out of Halifax for Great Britian.
December 10, 1948 The Universal Declaration of Human Rights is unanimously adopted by the United Nations. This “Magna Carta of Mankind” was drafted by John Peters Humphrey of Hampton.
December 10, 1958 In the Montreal Forum, Yvon Durelle, the “Fighting Fisherman” from Baie Ste-Anne, challenges Archie Moore for the world light-heavyweight title. Moore retains his title in a spectacular battle lasting 11 rounds - “the greatest fight of the century”.
December 11, 1834 Lieutenant-colonel Alexander MacDonald, a veteran soldier of the American Revolution who served in the 76th Regiment MacDonald’s Highlanders, dies at Bartibog (MacDonald Farm Provincial Historic Site).
December 11, 2003 The Government of Canada adopts a Royal Proclamation declaring July 28 of every year as A Day of Commemoration for the Great Upheaval (Acadian Deportation of 1755 - 1763).
December 13, 1785 Loyalist newcomers to New Brunswick petition Governor Thomas Carleton for an Academy of liberal Arts and Sciences. A Provincial Academy is established the same year in Fredericton - the beginning of UNB.
December 14, 1872 Gloucester County politician and lawyer William End dies from suffocation in a fire that destroys his Bathurst law office.
December 14, 1877 On this founding date, the Fredericton Temperance Reform Club holds a large torchlight parade with two bands and 1000 marchers in support of the temperance movement.
December 15, 1725 Dummer’s Treaty of Peace and Friendship is signed in Boston (Massachusetts), and British authorities promise to respect Wabanahki (Passamaquoddy, Maliseet, and Mi'kmaq) hunting, fishing, and planting grounds.
December 15, 1976 The first Atlantic Lottery draw takes place in Moncton, with the $50,000 grand prize going to Judy Christopher of North Port (Prince Edward Island).
December 16, 1920 Father Patrice Alexandre Chiasson becomes Bishop of Chatham.
December 16, 1934 “The Slippery Eel of Alcatraz”, John Stadig, of Connors, is captured in Portland Oregon, having leaped from a moving train. Stadig becomes the first inmate to escape Alcatraz prison (California).
December 18, 1783 At Carleton (Saint John), Loyalists William Lewis and John Ryan publish New Brunswick’s first newspaper, “The Royal Saint John’s Gazette and Nova-Scotia Intelligencer”.
December 18, 1878 In Grand Falls, there is a “stir about town” as Christmas beef and poultry are being purchased: “Although the times are hard, people cannot afford to let Christmas go by without their customary goose or turkey” !
December 18, 1888 Lawyer, teacher, and deputy county magistrate, Frances Lillian Fish, is born in Newcastle. In 1918, Fish becomes the first woman to graduate with a law degree from Dalhousie University and the first woman to be admitted to the Nova Scotia Bar.
December 18, 1890 Lieutenant-general E.W. Sansom, director of military training between the wars, and commander of the 5th Canadian Armoured Division during World War II, is born in Stanley.
December 19, 1804 John Medley, New Brunswick’s first Anglican Bishop, is born in Chelsea (England).
December 20, 1893 The Honourable John James Fraser, of Fredericton, is appointed Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick.
December 20, 1911 The Albert County natural gas pipeline from Stoney Creek commences service to Moncton, although a temporary disruption occurs when a gas explosion on Main Street destroys four buildings.
December 21, 1766 Jonathan Odell, New Brunswick’s first provincial secretary, is ordained an Anglican Deacon in London (England).
December 21, 1867 In Fredericton, the "Colonial Farmer" advertises that Santa Claus has appointed Charles A. Sampson as agent for the sale of “all sorts of Fancy Confectionery for the Holiday Season”. New Brunswick’s first Santa Claus.
December 21, 1878 The City Market in Saint John reports heavy sales of “country produce”, as the Christmas season approaches.
December 21, 1943 Joseph Leon Therriault, of Saint Hilaire, patents wood molding Weatherstripping for windows and doors.
December 22, 1903 The first convention of the New Brunswick Teachers’ Union is held in Moncton. The organization is renamed the New Brunswick Teachers’ Association and a constitution is adopted.
December 23, 1839 A brick Market House opens at Market Square in Saint John, two years after a fire destroyed more than 100 wooden structures in the city. Designed to withstand fire, the building burns in the Great Fire of 1877 and is rebuilt.
December 23, 1915 The “Collège de Caraquet” in Caraquet is destroyed by fire.
December 23, 1981 The Honourable George Francis Gillman Stanley, of Sackville, is appointed Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick.
December 24, 1819 The Madras Central School opens on King Street in Saint John.
December 24, 1854 In Fredericton, John Neill and seven associates form New Brunswick’s first curling club, establishing their rink in Officers’ Square.
December 24, 1878 In Fredericton, the "Daily Telegraph" later reports that Christmas Eve was spent by almost everyone in shopping. Gaily coloured “sky rockets” were sent off from Hall’s bookstore, and tinted lights burned in the windows of many stores.
December 25, 0 CHRISTMAS DAY
December 25, 1635 Explorer and cartographer Samuel de Champlain dies at Quebec. As lieutenant to Pierre Dugua de Mons, Champlain charted the coast of Acadia and was one of the founding members of the first permanent French settlement in North America at Saint Croix island.
December 25, 1844 In Fredericton, the death of William F. Odell marks the end of a long family tradition. Since the birth of New Brunswick in 1784, a member of the Odell family has served as New Brunswick’s Provincial Secretary.
December 25, 1846 The “New Brunswick Reporter” newspaper comments on the need for a Town Clock in Fredericton. Without a public Time Piece, mechanics in the city must depend upon the chimes from the Baptist Church, in billing for hours of labour and meals.
December 25, 1899 At Kingston, the Kingston Trotters have been trying their speed on the ice in Kingston lake, preparing for a race near Clifton on New Year’s Day.
December 26, 0 BOXING DAY
December 27, 1848 A telegraph line from Calais (Maine) to Saint John is completed, allowing for dispatches to be sent to Boston, New York and other major North American centres.
December 28, 1720 The British Lords of Trade propose to deport the Acadians from Nova Scotia, although the expulsion does not commence until 35 years later, in 1755 - 1763.
December 28, 1837 After twelve days of overland travel from Fredericton, the New Brunswick 43rd Regiment arrives at Québec.
December 28, 1928 Major General, the Honourable Hugh Havelock McLean, of Rothesay, is appointed Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick.
December 29, 1862 Alexander “Boss” Gibson purchases a sawmill on the Nashwaak and 7,000 acres of timberland from Robert Rankin – marking the beginnings of an economic empire, centered in Marysville.
December 29, 1883 Noted New Brunswick author and historian Dr. George Frederick Clarke is born in Woodstock.
December 29, 1977 Sandra Lovelace, of Tobique First Nation, presents her case to the Human Rights Committee of the United Nations. Canada’s Indian Act discriminates against Native women by depriving them of their status as “Indian” when they marry a non-Native.
December 30, 1861 As a result of “The Trent Affair” (seizure of two Confederate diplomats from a British vessel on the high seas), 6,000 British troops land at Saint John with orders to march overland to the Canadas - in defence of a possible American invasion.
December 31, 1829 In celebration of the building’s completion, Lieutenant-Governor Sir Howard Douglas hosts a full dress ball at (Old) Government House in Fredericton.
December 31, 1832 His Majesty’s Council of New Brunswick, as established by Royal Proclamation in 1784, is abolished and replaced by His Majesty’s Executive Council of New Brunswick.
December 31, 1832 New Brunswick’s Legislative Council is created by Royal Commission. Serving as an appointed “upper house”, the twelve member Council is abolished in 1891 by the unanimous consent of its members.
December 31, 1847 Saint John has seen almost 15,000 Irish immigrants arrive at its harbour over the past year, including 5,800 in 35 vessels during the month of June.
December 31, 1868 It is reported that Marysville’s Alexander “Boss” Gibson has shipped 67,942,511 feet of lumber and 759,505 palings from Saint John to English markets – making him “the largest shipper of lumber in America, if not the world.”
December 31, 1883 The Infantry School Corps (Royal Canadian Regiment) A Company is established in Fredericton, with Lieutenant-Colonel George J. Maunsell as commander.
December 31, 1884 A "Pauper's for Sale" auction takes place at the Railway Station in Sussex, under the auspices of Auctioneer W.H. White.
December 31, 2015 test