legi header logo
Legislative Assembly of New Brunswick
MLA Bios - 59th Legislature
Home | Français
Stewart Fairgrieve
Stewart Fairgrieve
MLA, Carleton

Stewart Fairgrieve was first elected as the Progressive Conservative candidate in the October 5, 2015 by-election to represent the electoral district of Carleton. He was re-elected in the provincial general election of September 24, 2018. He serves as the Government Caucus chairperson, represents government on the Legislative Administration Committee, and serves as chairperson of the Standing Committee on Procedure, Privileges and Legislative Officers.

He also serves as vice-chair of the Standing Committee on Economic Policy, vice-chair of the Standing Committee on Public Accounts and serves on the Standing Committee on Crown Corporations and the Standing Committee on Social Policy.

A resident of Hartland in Carleton County, Mr. Fairgrieve is a graduate of Hartland High School (1977). He earned a Bachelor of Education (Business) degree from the University of New Brunswick in Fredericton, with additional course work at Dalhousie University in Halifax.

An active member of his community, Mr. Fairgrieve is former chairperson of the Rural Community Roundtable, a past member of PSSC at Hartland Community School, a past director and former president of the Central Carleton Chamber of Commerce, a member of the Royal Canadian Legion for more than 30 years, a member of the Woodstock Masonic Lodge, a director of Woodstock Non-Profit Housing and a former member of a number of provincial and national real estate and housing associations.

Following a 20-year career in community newspapers and publishing, Mr. Fairgrieve assumed a number of political roles that included Executive Assistant to the Minister, Executive Director of the Progressive Conservative Party of New Brunswick, and Deputy Chief of Staff, Office of the Premier.

Mr. Fairgrieve and his wife Necedah (nee Shaw) are proud parents of three adult children; Stewart, Andrew (Molly Gallivan) and Abigail, and loving grandparents of Owen.
Last updated : 6/17/2019
Website Link(s)
arrow iconLegislative Assembly of New Brunswick
arrow iconConstituency Office