Standing Committee on Procedure, Privileges and Legislative Officers

The Standing Committee on Procedure, Privileges and Legislative Officers was established through rule changes adopted in March 2015 and combines the Standing Committee on Procedure, the Standing Committee on Privileges, and the Standing Committee on Legislative Officers.

Under Standing Rule 92, all Standing Rules and practices of the House, together with any matter referred by the Speaker, stand permanently referred to this Standing Committee. Accordingly, the committee is charged with reviewing and recommending changes to the Standing Rules or other procedures followed in the House. Matters that have been reviewed by the committee in the past have included: the sitting hours of the house; the use of laptop computers in the Chamber; advance budget briefings for Members; consideration of Opposition Members’ Business; Members' statements; and order of routine proceedings.

Privilege refers to those rights and immunities enjoyed by the House as a collectivity and by each Member individually, without which Members could not carry out their duties and the House could not fulfill its functions. Under Standing Rule 9(2), the House may, by resolution, refer a matter or question directly concerning the privileges of the House or any Committee or Member to the Standing Committee on Procedure, Privileges and Legislative Officers.

Unless otherwise provided by the Standing Rules, all reports to the House of Legislative Officers stand permanently referred to this committee. The committee provides a forum through which the Legislative Officers are accountable to the Legislative Assembly and ensures that their offices function effectively and meet the objectives of their respective Acts.

Comité permanent de la procédure, des privilèges et des hauts fonctionnaires de l’Assemblée

Le Comité permanent de la procédure, des privilèges et des hauts fonctionnaires de l’Assemblée a été constitué par voie de modifications du Règlement adoptées en mars 2015 et par la combinaison du Comité permanent de la procédure, du Comité permanent des privilèges et du Comité permanent des hauts fonctionnaires de l’Assemblée.

En application de l’article 92 du Règlement, les questions relatives au Règlement et aux usages de la Chambre, ainsi que celles soumises par le président de l’Assemblée, sont d’office renvoyées au Comité permanent de la procédure, des privilèges et des hauts fonctionnaires de l’Assemblée. En conséquence, ce comité est chargé d’examiner le Règlement et la procédure suivie à la Chambre et de formuler des recommandations de changements à cet égard. Voici quelques-unes des questions examinées par le comité dans le passé : horaire de séance de la Chambre, utilisation d’ordinateurs portables à la Chambre, séances d’information prébudgétaires pour les parlementaires, étude des affaires émanant de l’opposition, déclarations de députés, ordre des affaires courantes.

Le privilège s’entend des droits et immunités dont bénéficient la Chambre dans son ensemble et les parlementaires à titre individuel, faute desquels il serait impossible pour les parlementaires de s’acquitter de leurs fonctions et pour la Chambre d’accomplir son travail. Aux termes du paragraphe 9(2) du Règlement, la Chambre peut, sur résolution, renvoyer au Comité permanent de la procédure, des privilèges et des hauts fonctionnaires de l’Assemblée une question se rapportant directement aux privilèges de la Chambre, d’un de ses comités ou d’un député.

Sauf disposition contraire du Règlement, le Comité permanent de la procédure, des privilèges et des hauts fonctionnaires de l’Assemblée est saisi d’office des rapports qu’adressent à la Chambre ces hauts fonctionnaires. Le comité sert de tribune où les hauts fonctionnaires de l’Assemblée législative rendent des comptes à cette Assemblée et il assure le bon fonctionnement de leurs bureaux et le respect, par ces bureaux, de l’objet des lois qui les ont créés.