Legislative Committees

Legislative committees have existed in New Brunswick since the meeting of the first Legislative Assembly in 1786. The main characteristic of any legislative committee is that it is appointed by the Legislative Assembly and consists entirely of Members of the Assembly. Legislative committees consider matters which are referred to them by the Legislative Assembly. They exist to expedite the work of the House and to allow for more thorough study of complex or technical questions. Committees can be of a more convenient size than the Assembly, allowing for a more detailed analysis of the matters referred to them than may be available in the House. Committees often take the place of the Legislature when it is necessary to consult the population, examine a Bill in detail, or carry out an in-depth study or investigation on a specific matter.

Legislative committees are appointed by the Assembly and exercise only those powers and authority vested in them by the House. Committees do not have independent powers of inquiry to examine matters of their own choosing, unless that power is specifically granted by the House. Within its terms of reference, however, each committee is afforded total independence in its deliberations. A committee can be authorized by the House to call for persons, papers and records which enables it to examine witnesses and obtain expert advice. Committees can also provide a means by which the public can provide input on a matter and make their views and opinions known to the Legislature.

Complete List of Current Committee Memberships

Standing Committees

Standing committees are appointed at the commencement of each new Legislature and exist for the life of an Assembly. The Standing Rules provide for the appointment of eleven standing committees. Standing committees are appointed to consider all matters of a particular class referred to them by the Assembly. From time to time, standing committees may also study a particular subject matter referred to them by the House.

The powers and functions of standing committees are either set out in the Standing Rules or established by precedent or order of the House. No limit is set by the Standing Rules on the size of these committees, and the size may vary from committee to committee. Standing committees meet throughout the year with authority to report from time to time on matters referred to them by the House.

Select Committees

From time to time the House may appoint a Select Committee to consider and report on a particular subject or to undertake a specific task or inquiry. A Select Committee is created by means of a motion defining its membership and mandate.

Standing Rule 94 provides for the appointment of Select Committees: Select Committees may be appointed on motion and continue to exist until the presentation of their final reports or until the dissolution of the House whichever occurs first.

Select Committees often hold public hearings to obtain input on the subject matter being considered and frequently invite government officials or other expert witnesses to appear. Select committees have the same powers as Standing Committees, including the power to strike sub-committees and to hear witnesses. Select committees report directly to the Legislative Assembly.

Archived sites of past select committees can be found here.

Comités parlementaires

Les comités parlementaires existent au Nouveau-Brunswick depuis que la première Assemblée législative s’est réunie en 1786. La caractéristique principale de tout comité parlementaire est qu’il est constitué par l’Assemblée législative et qu’il est entièrement composé de parlementaires. Les comités parlementaires étudient les questions dont les saisit l’Assemblée législative. Ils servent à accélérer les travaux de la Chambre et permettent une étude plus poussée de questions de nature complexe ou technique. Les comités, en raison de leur taille inférieure à celle de l’Assemblée, se prêtent mieux que la Chambre à l’analyse exhaustive des questions dont ils sont saisis. Les comités prennent souvent la place de l’Assemblée législative lorsqu’il est nécessaire de consulter la population, d’examiner un projet de loi en détail ou de procéder à une étude ou à une enquête poussée sur une question précise.

Les comités parlementaires sont constitués par l’Assemblée et n’exercent que les pouvoirs et l’autorité que la Chambre leur confère. Les comités ne sont pas investis de pouvoirs autonomes d’enquête leur permettant d’examiner des questions de leur choix, à moins d’être explicitement habilités à le faire par la Chambre. Dans l’exercice de son mandat, cependant, chaque comité bénéficie d’une indépendance totale quant à ses délibérations. La Chambre peut autoriser des comités à signifier des assignations et à demander la production de documents et de dossiers, ce qui permet d’interroger des témoins et d’obtenir les conseils de spécialistes. Par le truchement des comités, aussi, le public peut fournir un apport relativement à une question et faire connaître ses vues et ses opinions à l’Assemblée législative.

Liste complète des membres des comités actuels

Comités permanents

Les comités permanents sont constitués au commencement de chaque nouvelle législature et pour la durée de la législature. Le Règlement prévoit la constitution de 11 comités permanents. Les comités permanents sont chargés d’étudier les questions relatives à un domaine déterminé dont l’Assemblée les saisit. Les comités permanents peuvent aussi étudier une question en particulier que la Chambre leur a renvoyée.

Les pouvoirs et mandats des comités permanents sont soit énoncés dans le Règlement, soit établis par les précédents ou par ordre de la Chambre. Le Règlement ne prévoit aucune limite quant à la taille de ces comités, et celle-ci peut varier d’un comité à l’autre. Les comités spéciaux font directement rapport à l’Assemblée législative.

Comités spéciaux

À l’occasion, la Chambre peut constituer un comité spécial chargé d’étudier une question et de faire rapport à cet égard, de réaliser une certaine mission ou de mener une enquête. Un comité spécial est constitué par voie de motion désignant ses membres et définissant son mandat.

L’article 94 du Règlement énonce ce qui suit :

Des comités spéciaux peuvent être constitués sur motion et subsistent jusqu’à la présentation de leur rapport final ou à la dissolution de la Chambre, selon la première éventualité.

Les comités spéciaux tiennent souvent des audiences publiques pour recevoir un apport sur la question à l’étude et invitent fréquemment des responsables gouvernementaux ou d’autres témoins spécialistes à comparaître. Les comités spéciaux ont les mêmes pouvoirs que les comités permanents, y compris le pouvoir de constituer des sous-comités et d’entendre des témoignages. Les comités spéciaux font rapport directement à l’Assemblée législative et sont automatiquement dissous au dépôt de leur rapport final ou à la dissolution de la Chambre.

Les sites archivés des anciens comités spéciaux sont accessibles ici.