Government of New Brunswick

In Saint John, an Ox roast is held in King Square to celebrate the abdication of Napoleon Bonaparte.


May 28, 1873 In Fredericton, James H. Miller patents “Miller’s Flanger”, a pair of scrapers that attach to the cowcatcher on locomotives, used to clear railway tracks of ice and snow.
May 28, 1895 Owens Art Gallery, the oldest university art gallery in Canada, re-opens on the Mount Allison campus in Sackville, having been relocated from Saint John two years previous.
May 29, 1900 Theodore H. Rand, educator, poet and former chancellor of McMaster University, dies in Fredericton. As the first Superintendent of Education under the controversial Schools Act of 1871, Rand led the reform of New Brunswick's school system.
May 30, 1814 In Saint John, an Ox roast is held in King Square to celebrate the abdication of Napoleon Bonaparte.
May 30, 1957 Yvon Durelle, the “Fighting Fisherman” from Baie Ste.-Anne, wins the British Empire light-heavyweight crown at Moncton, in a 2 round knockout decision over Gordon Wallace of Brantford (Ontario). Durelle later challenges Archie Moore for the world title.
May 31, 1872 Six families, under the leadership of Captain Heller, depart Copenhagen (Denmark) by steamship, destined to establish the settlement of New Denmark.
May 31, 1880 Moncton's "Daily Times" reports a "crazy man in the vicinity of High Street roaming about entirely naked with the exception of a sheep skin girdle in which is fixed a knife. He is said to live in the woods."
June 1, 1997 The Confederation Bridge, linking Prince Edward Island with New Brunswick, is officially opened with a giant foot race and a walk in which more than 50,000 people participate.
June 1, 1911 A new national census reports that New Brunswick's population has grown by 6 percent to reach 351,889 - although only 13 percent of Canada's population make their home in the Maritime Provinces.
June 1, 1921 Canada's population is pegged at 8,788,483 with New Brunswick at 387,876 (an increase of 10 percent). The Maritime Provinces account for only 11 percent of the total population of the Canadian Dominion.
June 1, 1951 New Brunswick's population reaches 515, 697, and leads the Maritime Provinces with a growth rate of 13 percent. In total however, the Maritimes only account for 9 percent of Canada's national population.
June 1, 1961 Comprising 8 percent of Canada's population, the Maritimes have continued to grow, but the rest of Canada has grown faster. New Brunswick reports an increase of 8 percent, totaling 597,936 - compared to a national average of 13 percent and 18,238,247.
June 1, 1931 The Maritime Provinces account for 10 percent of Canada's population, with New Brunswick reporting an increase of 5 percent - totaling 408,219.
June 1, 1938 The Hon. C.D. Howe, federal Minister of Transport, officially opens a new steel railway bridge spanning the river St. John at Fredericton. Replacing a previous structure destroyed by ice in 1936, it is re-opened as a walking bridge on August 4, 1997.
June 1, 1905 The publishing headquarters for "L'Évangline" (the "National newspaper for Acadia") is moved from Weymouth (Nova Scotia) to Moncton.
June 2, 1941 For the first time since Confederation, the Maritime Provinces are experiencing a population growth equal to the national average, with New Brunswick and Nova Scotia exceeding the rest of Canada by 2 percent. New Brunswick reports 457,401 people.
June 3, 1975 New Brunswick Day is established as a provincial holiday, to be celebrated every first Monday of August.
June 3, 1935 Fredericton writer and founding member of the "Poets of Confederation", Sir Charles G.D. Roberts, becomes the first Canadian poet to be knighted for his inspirational work in establishing Canada's early national literary movement.
June 3, 1847 The Irish immigrant ship “Looshtauk” reaches Middle Island, on the Miramichi, with all but two of its passengers sick with typhus. Having departed Liverpool with 467 passengers bound for Quebec, 146 died while crossing the Atlantic.
June 3, 1770 The "Snow Queen" drops anchor in “Harbour de L'Outre in the Island of Passamaquoddy", with 38 Lancashire indentured settlers and 15 crewmen. Their "Principal Proprietor" (landlord) and leader, Captain William Owen, names his island "Campo Bello".
June 3, 1973 Founding of the Société des Acadiens du Nouveau-Brunswick (SANB) in Shippagan, following recommendations made by the "Congres des francophones" held in Fredericton the previous year.
June 3, 1959 The New Brunswick provincial tartan, designed by Patricia Jenkins of Gagetown, is accepted by the Court of The Lord Lyon, King-of-Arms in Edinburgh (Scotland), as "The New Brunswick Tartan" - and recorded as a registered design.
June 3, 2004 A glitch in the Royal Bank of Canada's national computer system delays the electronic deposit of pay cheques for thousands of employees within New Brunswick.
June 3, 1766 Moncton Township's anglophone settlers arrive on a sloop commanded by Captain John Hall. Eight families from Philadelphia land near the mouth of Hall's Creek and are given grants of land totaling 17,611 acres.